We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really don't waste your money.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tale of The Whale

Tale of The Whale
7575 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9162
252-441-7332
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 72 Restaurants in Nags Head
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: Family owned and operated for 33 years, we serve the finest and freshest local seafood, choice steaks, salads, pastas, chicken and more. We pay attention to every detail to ensure your meal is memorable and delicious! Enjoy casual dining overlooking the Roanoke Sound, and live music (in season) in our waterfront gazebo. Come early and enjoy your favorite cocktail outdoors overlooking the water, or in our indoor bar. We offer an extensive wine list, a lighter fare menu, childrens’ menu and more. We welcome children, families and parties of all sizes, and offer comfortable booths for a romantic dinner for two. We look forward to serving you!
Nags Head, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Really don't waste your money.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Just left Tale of the Whale - met some friends from out of town who swear by it. Unfortunately, I'd gladly never return.

The service was exceptionally slow, even though the dining area was only about 60% full. Drinks came a little late but were tasty!

The prices are quite frankly over the top and far more expensive than you would pay in a much more intimate, higher quality eatery. I ordered the shrimp and grits, per a recommendation, and it honestly sucked. Everyone's food came out warm to cold, the grits were stale, shrimp obviously not local quality (tasted frozen), and the sauce was like a nasty beef gravy.

The waitress accidentally delivered someone's soup to me an said she would take it off the bill- didn't happen.

You are MUCH MUCH better off going to Kelly's or Sugar Creek than Tale of the Whale. Too expensive, ok service, and honestly.. Really lousy seafood.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    58
    39
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Locust Grove, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Five of us ate here. Arrived at aprox. 5PM for the Early Bird 20% off. Had about a 20 minute wait. The meal was very good and the waiter was excellent!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous food - great prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

When my husband and I were traveling around the Outer Banks, we were looking for a place to eat dinner. We had heard this was a great place, and we were NOT disappointed! Upon entering we were greeted by a delightful lady who asked if we had ever been here before, and we told her it was our first time in the Outer Banks. She welcomed us and took us to an amazing table right by the window where we were able to see a spectacular sunset. Little did we know that this was the FIRST night the restaurant had been opened for the season. They typically close from November to mid-April. Our waiter, Matt, was great and guided us in our food decisions. We were not disappointed in our meal or the service. Top notch all the way! The seafood is fresh and the hush puppies are huge and amazing, served witrh honey butter. We ordered six but should have only ordered three. Do not leave with out trying their famous peanut butter pie - so good! They also make one with a chocolate crust that has chocolate chips in it, too. And they are very gracious about giving you the recipe on a pre-printed card so you can try to make it at home.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Try out the Back Gazebo for Cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The restaurant is good, but the back gazebo for having cocktails and listening to live music is the best. The gazebo goes out on the water and the breeze is relaxing and enjoyable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had the most fantastic seafood dinner at Tale of the Whale. Our group of 6 each had a different dish and everyone agreed the food was "out of this world." Even the salad (which came with our entrees) and hush puppies were great! Wish we had room for the scrumptious looking desserts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tale of The Whale also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Tale of The Whale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tale of The Whale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.