We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the booths” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tale of The Whale

Tale of The Whale
7575 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9162
252-441-7332
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 72 Restaurants in Nags Head
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: Family owned and operated for 33 years, we serve the finest and freshest local seafood, choice steaks, salads, pastas, chicken and more. We pay attention to every detail to ensure your meal is memorable and delicious! Enjoy casual dining overlooking the Roanoke Sound, and live music (in season) in our waterfront gazebo. Come early and enjoy your favorite cocktail outdoors overlooking the water, or in our indoor bar. We offer an extensive wine list, a lighter fare menu, childrens’ menu and more. We welcome children, families and parties of all sizes, and offer comfortable booths for a romantic dinner for two. We look forward to serving you!
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love the booths”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Love to go to Tale when I am on Outer Banks for work. Took the family to our hotel last week of August for a work and family trip. Last week of August is the best time, schools have started so getting into restaurants is easy. Food at the Tale was very good as usual, had a great service staff, and the large high back booths that overlook the sound are the best. I love privacy when eating and these give it to you.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    58
    39
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A dinner gone sour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We started the evening in uplifted spirits, with our baby dancing at the live music and us sipping some Chardonnay while waiting for our table. Lovely ambience, close to the water, and the wait was even pleasant this way. Food was good, not exceptional but honest American seafood and the waiter was nice. The unpleasant part came at the moment of paying the bill when the manager, in front of our tax exempt card by the Department of State (I am a diplomat here in the US) said he knew what a diplomat was but was not going to apply the law, not in his restaurant. He was very unpleasant and arrogant to us and we left the place with very negative feelings. We never had to confront such an attitude anywhere else in Nags Head, where everybody in shops, lodging and other restaurants has always been very nice and did not have an issue with the tax exemption scheme. Dommage. It was really un-neccessary and spoilt an evening that would have been otherwise quite lovely.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mmmm fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Delicious fresh seafood at a bay-side restaurant. A very romantic but casual atmosphere that was paired with great food and good service from the waitstaff. Absolutely worth visiting - I got the Light Far Scallops which ended up being a rather large portion, while my boyfriend had the combo Fish of the Day which was also a generous portion. You must try the She-Crab Soup!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston New jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I am not a seafood eater so my choices are limited. We wanted a place with a view of the water which surprising is hard to find here. We picked tale of the whale from one of the guide books and it had good reviews on trip advisor. When we got there, there was a bit of a wait we went to the bar and got a drink and went outside and sat by the water and waited for our name. A few minutes later we went in. The place is nice and we sat by the water. It's inside only no outdoor seating. The waiter arrived quickly told us the specials and away we went. My wife had the she crab soup which she said was excellent. I had the chicken bites which were also good. For dinner she got the trio two huge pieces of fish with crab,t
They could have served half the portion and it would have been more than enough. I had the meat trio steak ribs and chicken. That was really good. Overall a great meal. Those who give this place poor reviews I don't know what they think. Maybe they don't know how to go out to dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome, Maryland
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our group of 20 ate here on August 23rd. It was another great meal! We come here every year. The jewelry shop in the lobby is AWESOME. They are so helpful and have beautiful pieces. It's nice to be able to shop while you wait for your table. Also has a little bar right in the lobby. I had coconut shrimp for an appetizer, it was perfect. Also, had stuffed flounder for an entree, it was delicious and a large portion. I took it home and ate it the next day. The bread is very good. We enjoyed our time on the deck taking pictures after dinner. We will definitely be back next year.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tale of The Whale also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Tale of The Whale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tale of The Whale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.