We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Drum Taphouse

Red Drum Taphouse
2412 S Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959-9246
252 480 1095
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 71 restaurants in Nags Head
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Milford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We went to spend thanksgiving in nags head,rented a house next door to this place thinking was nice because we like to try beer and they were supposed to have a good variety on tap.they had about only 2 or 3 beers on tap and when you say something they had an attitude.last day we tried again...even worst,my husband waited about 10 minutes to have a drink waiting for the bartender feels to serve him.food wasn't bad but not great and service terrible.only place in nags head that staff wasn't nice.go to tortuga's and dirty dick instead,much better good time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    100
    77
    23
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schnecksvill, PA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Food OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have eaten at this restaurant on a several occassions while on vacation in the OBX. The food is certainly not the best I have had on OBX, just OK.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good Food and Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were in town for the half marathon and decided to grab a bite at a place we had not tried before. Everyone had something different, but I would have to say the macaroni and cheese with shrimp was the best!

When we got there the place was packed and no where to park. We knew we found a good spot!

Try this place you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ahh the Jambalaya!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband is absolutely hooked on this dish. Whenever he is in the mood we always head to Red Drum.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I loved the Shrimp Queso Dip. I could have made a meal out of that. In fact I ate so much of it that I did not have room for the crab cakes I ordered and had to take them to go

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Drum Taphouse also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Red Drum Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Drum Taphouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.