We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pig Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sooey's BBQ

Sooey's BBQ
3919 South Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
(252) 449-6465
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 74 Restaurants in Nags Head
Cuisines: Barbecue, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Takeout
Brownstown Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Pig Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

One of our goals for our recent trip to the OBX was to find great BBQ. This fit the bill, plus some. The pulled pork and pulled chicken were excellent, the hushpuppies were just yummy. I eat BBQ with no extra sauce and the BBQ flavor was just smokey enough and spicy enough to hold up to the naked BBQ test. The iced tea was freshly brewed. We ate outside because the weather was wonderful and our server came out several times to check on us for refills and make sure we were happy. If you want great BBQ make sure you stop here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    35
    15
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nags Head, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Premium BBQ - Don't Miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

You would be doing yourself a disservice if you DIDNT go to Sooeys on your OBX vacation. The pork and sides are all done jUST RIGHT! Mopping Sauce for on top is nice and spicy too!

Plenty of flavor, smokiness, and moisture in the pork i've had there. Would always recommend to others!

PS- go for the BIGGIE sandwiches when you go!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“ribs were good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Ribs were good and sides were ok. Small little place... that was clean. Bathrooms you had to go outside of the place...not very desireable. If I go again, I would take carry out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“NEVER GO!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Rip off!!! Bad bbq... bad service... bad host... bad sides... just all around bad... bad .... bad...

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The place with Que for Everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just drove 10 hours to get to the beach, then to the grocery... you don't want to cook but EVERYONE is hungry! Go to Sooey's and get a mess of pulled pork BBQ, fried chicken, hush puppies and all the fixin's and you are 1,2,3...DONE! With leftovers for lunch tomorrow... Que for the masses - YUM!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sooey's BBQ also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Sooey's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sooey's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.