We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grits Grill

Grits Grill
5000 S Croatan Hwy, Milepost 14, The Outer Banks Mall, Nags Head, NC 27959-8501
252 449 2888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 74 Restaurants in Nags Head
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Grits Grill is a decidedly southern place to have a great breakfast or lunch year round. It's open till 2 pm daily. Most of the cooking is done right behind the diner style front counter. Eggs any style, chipped beef, omelettes, hotcakes and of course grits (cooked just about any style) are breakfast specialties and served anytime. Lunch is full of specials and deli offerings. Owned locally. Staff is well known for being warm and friendly. Come have breakfast with us anytime!
virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great breakfast place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We ate here for breakfast for the second year in a row. They serve a very good breakfast and lunch. My son and I love the grits. My husband ordered lunch, while the other four of us ordered breakfast. They have an old-fashioned diner atmosphere, and we will probably go back next year.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    77
    21
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Southern hospitality, at its best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Good home cooking breaskfast like at your grandmas house.,must have there biscuits and gravy,sprimp and grits real grits,are off the chain. Have been coming here for years always been a staple for our family when we go beach.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

You gotta go here for breakfast
It's a classic old diner atmosphere
Food made to order was great
Staff was very friendly
I liked the decor....like from the 50s

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little egg harbor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best biscuits and gravy ever! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is our family's second year coming to OBX. Last years we stumbled upon Gritz grill and loved it so much, we swore to go again! Round 2 was just as amazing as the first! Great service & food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, value, and service with a smile :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

With a warm, fuzzy welcome from Grandma and Grandpa like they were bringing you into their home, it set the tone for this breakfast visit. The food was delicious, served timely and with a smile. The only thing that would have improved my rating to 5 stars would have been good coffee. No problem though, we went to Morning View for that. Will be back for breakfast next year!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grits Grill also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Grits Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grits Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.