We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grits Grill

Grits Grill
5000 S Croatan Hwy, Milepost 14, The Outer Banks Mall, Nags Head, NC 27959-8501
252 449 2888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 72 Restaurants in Nags Head
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Grits Grill is a decidedly southern place to have a great breakfast or lunch year round. It's open till 2 pm daily. Most of the cooking is done right behind the diner style front counter. Eggs any style, chipped beef, omelettes, hotcakes and of course grits (cooked just about any style) are breakfast specialties and served anytime. Lunch is full of specials and deli offerings. Owned locally. Staff is well known for being warm and friendly. Come have breakfast with us anytime!
westminster
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best breakfast on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This place has awesome food. The portions are huge so come with an appetite. This is a must for any outer banks vacation.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    71
    21
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Narrowsburg, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our hotel recommended this place for breakfast. Just a casual, friendly place, which we wanted. There was many choices to make on the menu and the service was fast. The grits were delicious!! We returned 3 of the 4 days were stayed in Nags Head.....

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Not much to look at from the outside, located in a strip mall area. it was very busy on a Friday morning. We got a delicious omelette and grits and bacon and hash browns and more. The price was very good for the OBX. The interior is not fancy but perfect for a casual beach place, they can seat large groups or one person can sit at the counter. There is a small souvenir shop area, check it out. Grits grill is only open 6 am to 2 pm, so get there early!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Huge Southern breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

As a former Southerner, I was excited to have a real Southern breakfast, and this place satisfied me big time! Pancakes, scrambled eggs, grits, hash browns, a BIG biscuit and sausage. It was all delicious and all for < $10!! If you've never had grits, these are the ones to try. The biscuits are flaky and buttery, and the hash browns are the real thing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stopped off here on our way out of the Banks on Saturday. It was busy! We had about 15 min wait.
Once we got seated we had coffee almost right away. Also side note they have GREAT coffee here!
We both ordered Kiss our grits and it was awesome home town food.
Great price – Great food and great atmosphere

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grits Grill also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Grits Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grits Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.