We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but didn't love the food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pamlico Jacks

Pamlico Jacks
6708 S Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959
+1 252-441-2637
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 72 Restaurants in Nags Head
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location but didn't love the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place has a great location and is really neat looking. My kids loved their meals, but my husband and I were less impressed (and we are not usually particular). We felt the prices were high, too; it kept us from going back during the week even though my 10 year old begged us. On the plus side, they have a really cool backyard - there are several corn-hole games set up that people can just walk up and play. Nice place to visit, but I'm not sure if we'd go back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    103
    48
    23
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Out of the 10+ restau
rants I ate at in OBX, Pamlico Jacks was by far the best!! The quality of the food was amazing and the staff was super friendly.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Nags Head!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I couldn't have been more impressed with the rehearsal dinner we had there this last October. The service was impeccable as was the quality of the food. Every time we are in Nags Head we go there. Doug and his crew always make us feel at home. The food is always delicious and we are always taken care of. We will visit them forever!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Two great meals on different days - would definitely go again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Day 1 - quiet Monday night with another couple, had the tuna steak special, it was awesome - my husband had a delmonico steak, done perfectly (and he likes his well-done, and often it is not cooked right at other places). The fresh bread basket was really special - fantastic cornbread - so sweet it was like cake, and crusty dark brown rolls that werw wonderful, too. We were seated on the first floor facing the sound, watched the sun set. It was not crowded, so very quiet while we were there.

Day 2 - busy Friday night, place was packed and we were a party of 8. We were seated fairly quickly (well within the promised 20 minutes). Everyone enjoyed what they ordered; I had the crab cake sandwich this time, very good, big chunks of crab on a nice soft roll with delicious french fries and an apple slaw. This visit we were upstairs in the loft - nice space but it was VERY noisy up there.

Prices were reasonable for a resort town. We did not spend time at the bar and it was too cool for the outside seating area, so no review for those!

I would definitely visit again, next time I'm vacationing there!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Great - Great - Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Due to the off season, a number of restaurants were closed in the beginning of the week, seeing a lot of OBX license plates, we decided to give this place a chance. WOW. were we lucky. The license plates were due to a local golf tournament. There was a significant discount on a bottle of wine, the waiter's recommendations were fantastic, the view was great and when we received our food he was spot on.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pamlico Jacks also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Pamlico Jacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pamlico Jacks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.