We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining expeience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Owens' Restaurant

Owens' Restaurant
Milepost 16 1/2, Beach Rd, Nags Head, NC 27959-9126
252-441-7309
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 72 Restaurants in Nags Head
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great dining expeience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

A trip to OBX is not complete without a dinner at Owen's. We have been dinning here for 18 years. Never had a bad meal. Love the filet Oscar. Atmosphere is perfect and the service is outstanding.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    99
    55
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Elegant Nags Head Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

For our family, no vacation to the Outer Banks is complete until we have an elegant dinner at Owens. This is a dress up event, but they will let you be seated even if you are wearing short and flip flops! The same family has owned Owens for decades. Everything is delicious, and if you don't see exactly what you want on the menu, ask your server - chances are the chef will whip up something perfect for you. Seafood dishes are specialty, the prime rib is also great. And the desserts! Decadent does not adequately describe the fabulous desserts. The servers are skilled at handling large groups that are there for special occasions. Take time when you go to look at the antique china and nautical artifacts displayed, and browse in the gift shop section. Expensive and less expensive menu items are available. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not sure how this is number 37!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We recently dined at Owens while visiting for the weekend. We also dined at what was the number one rated restaurant in Nags head. This place blew the #1 out of the water, and it wasn't even close. The only thing remotely negative is it's a tad pricey, but you definitely get what you pay for here. We got the seafood combo platter which had shrimp, scallops, Crab Remmick, and flounder. Every single piece of this dinner was incredible, and cooked to perfection. We also had the Crab Remmick as an ap, This is a must get, I've never tasted anything like it. The atmosphere is great for a family or for a date. We can't wait for our next trip to visit Owen's again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Maine Event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I had a lovely lobster dinner here and it was delicious, and a great value. For $24.99 you get a 11/2 lb. whole maine lobster, mashed potatoes, and corn pudding. The server was gracious and cracked the lobster for us. I didnt come dressed to crack lobster and was relieved when he offered to do so. The lobster was perfectly steamed and tender. Service was attentive and efficient. I will definitely return to Owens for the Maine event and would recomment the restaurant to others as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

An Outer Banks tradition, it was a busy Saturday night with a reasonable wait. The food was good and plentiful, but you could tell they were grinding it out. Not really gracious dining, the bread was probably fresh at the start of the evening, but.... It is also a bad idea to pay extra (a lot extra) for a salad. But, all in all, I would go back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owens' Restaurant also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Owens' Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owens' Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.