We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service, Best Ice Cream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scammell's Corner Surf Shop & Ice Cream Parlor

Scammell's Corner Surf Shop & Ice Cream Parlor
6406 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 72 Restaurants in Nags Head
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Manassas, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Service, Best Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

On our vacation, My husband and I found this great shop for ice cream after a bad experience down the street. We were so lucky to have found Scammell's. The ice cream is delicious and served in generous portions. Matt was friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed, on our second trip to his shop, watching him make a flower out of balloons for a little girl. The shop is remarkably clean. We are back home now and we long for more Scammell's ice cream.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place, awesome ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This place was an awesome stop with great ice cream. So many options - 52 flavors when we went. Hours were 11-11. Very entertaining and helpful staff.. Fun atmosphere and good prices. Surf shop was pretty cool to explore during our short wait. Going back a second time before we leave OBX!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Incredible Icecream - Superior Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a must-do while on the Outer Banks. The surf shop is very cool (even if you're not into surfing). Check out the handmade teak products - very cool.

The ice cream parlor serves up tasty treats. And entertainment - just wait for Matt to break out the singing. Truly a family-owned and operated business and they are among the nicest people you will meet on the OBX.

But really how good is it?? We were there EVERY night during our stay! LOL

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great time had by all - even those with peanut allergies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Searched through TripAdvisor to find an ice cream parlour to take the girls after a long (and hard) day at the beach. As always, TripAdvisor never disappoints.

The service was great and as soon as I mentioned that my daughter had an allergy to peanuts, he immediate jumped into gear, went to the sink and washed the scoop with some kind of soap. He then went to the cash and took out a laminated sheet that had a list of common allergens in each flavor they had. At first, I didn`t know what to do as this was the first time this has ever happened to us.

Then we went to the surf shop that is in the other half of the space. With all this, the singing server, and Zeus (the dog), it`s definitely worth the trip.

Can`t wait to go back in a couple of days.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Overall great time - even better for those with llergies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Searched through TripAdvisor to find an ice cream parlour to take the girls after a long (and hard) day at the beach. As always, TripAdvisor never disappoints.

The service was great and as soon as I mentioned that my daughter had an allergy to peanuts, he immediate jumped into gear, went to the sink and washed the scoop with some kind of soap. He then went to the cash and took out a laminated sheet that had a list of common allergens in each flavor they had. At first, I didn`t know what to do as this was the first time this has ever happened to us.

Then we went to the surf shop that is in the other half of the space. With all this, the singing server, and Zeus (the dog), it`s definitely worth the trip.

Can`t wait to go back in a couple of days.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scammell's Corner Surf Shop & Ice Cream Parlor also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Scammell's Corner Surf Shop & Ice Cream Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scammell's Corner Surf Shop & Ice Cream Parlor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.