We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Austin Fish Company

Austin Fish Company
3711 South Croatan Highway, Nags Head, NC
(252) 441-7412
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 74 Restaurants in Nags Head
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Salisbury, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinner out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stopped in to buy shrimp and see how they tasted before the following nights seafood feast..
The shrimp were very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    19
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very disappointing this year”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We've used Austins last year to get seafood to take back to our hotel to eat/grill outside. This was our first stop after checking in at our hotel this year, to put in our seafood order for pick up later that day. There were 3 couples ordering their seafood. Last year, we were able to order our raw seafood at the same time as the order was put in for steamed seafood, but they changed that process, and now you can only get your raw fish at the time of pickup of your steamed food, which makes waiting even longer. Because there were only a few tile filets left, the person behind the counter took our two filets and bagged them up/put our name on it, so we'd be sure to have them when we returned for pick up later in the day. The problem was that when my husband went back to get our steamed and fresh seafood at their scheduled time, they had sold our tile fish. Luckily, there was still 1 filet left in the showcase which we were able to get. So as far as service (the owner/woman was very rude and grumpy last year, and was the same again this year) they get a huge thumbs down. Now, as far as freshness, last year - no complaints. This year, the quality of the fish and other steafood (party of 6 of us) was very disappointing. The tile fish smelled very fishy when we were grilling it (skin on. . . and we got from a different place the next night with skin on, and it wasn't fishy smelling at all while grilling), the steamed shrimp was tough and hard to peel, our other friends ordered crabs to be steamed, and upon pickup, they forgot about that order, and we had to wait. The tuna was almost a bubble-gum color rather than a deep red like the year before. So there were plenty of negatives for us to decide we were done with Austin's as far as customer service and quality, and decided to check out another seafood company we had been hearing great things about just up the road a mile or so. Huge disappointment, will not recommend again. They lost out for sure on 3 couples who go to OBX at least once each year if not more, (and typcially order food for dinner there for every night of our stay), as well as friends of ours who like to grill out instead of going out to restraunts to eat their seafood.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Seafood at Reasonable Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I so wish we had found this place before our last day! This is a carry-out type place with a couple of picnic tables outside if you would like to eat there. They have fried items from lunch to mid-day, and they offer steamed items throughout the day.

The place is cramped, but all of it with great, fresh and frozen items for your meal. It consists of a three-sided display case with refrigerated and freezer space lining the opposite sides. Order anything from clams to scallops to the catch of the day. If you would like you can have it steamed for you as well. They have a pretty lengthy fried menu for the mid-day. Currently, there is a produce stand in the parking lot, so you can have a one stop shop for everything for a fresh as can be meal.

The price is extremely reasonable and everything that we tried tasted great -- we actually stopped by the next morning to grab some items for the road. Although we thought we were always getting in everyone's way (you can't help it - it is small), everyone was really friendly and helpful -- including some quick dipping sauce suggestions. If you like fresh seafood, give it a try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great crabs at a reasonable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We bought a bushel of steamed crabs for $150. That is half what they charge in the DC area. The crabs were big and sweet.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Lunch and fresh local fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our second trip to Nags Head and it wouldn't be the same without a visit to The Austin Fish Company. We order grouper sandwiches which were the best! My husband also had the gumbo which he said was good. We brought home swordfish, tuna, and mahi to grill for dinner. Wonderful and fresh! Other members of our group ordered take out steamed crab legs. They too were fresh and better then we've ever had in a restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austin Fish Company also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Austin Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin Fish Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.