We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Heads Bar & Grill

Fish Heads Bar & Grill
8901 Old Oregon Inlet Road, 18½ Mile Post, Nags Head, NC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 74 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: New this season! Brand new Bar & Grill on the Outer Banks Fishing Pier.It offers appetizers, sandwiches, baskets, soft drinks, beer, etc right on the Atlantic Ocean fishing pier. I have photos.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“About time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have family in the outer banks and travel there many times during the year. The one thing that the outer banks lacks is a good (or any) restaurant on the beach where you can see the ocean. Fish Heads is that place now. Fish Heads is located at the Outer Banks Pier. It is an older Pier with that older style and used to only attract a few fishmen. Now it is packed all the time. We had a good sample of many items on the menu and it was all good. The fish sandwhich was outstanding. I actually hate to put this review in because I don't want it to change or get any more crowded.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    31
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great Location! Great owner! 10 cent shrimp every night from 4-6pm. Great entertainment. Great selection of beverages. What more can you ask for. One of the highlights of our vacation.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA and Spain
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great views, great food, great beer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The food, the drink, and the atmosphere are all fantastic at this top notch Outer Banks venue, the only real beachside dining on the outer banks. Don't miss the fish tacos, the crabcake sandwich, the north carolina bbq, or even the bay spiced shrimp. The beer selection is outstanding, and the wine bar definitely suffices. The best place to eat and drink on the Outer Banks, and I'm not even mentioning the terrific live music.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cool Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Had an abbreviated visit due to a incoming storm but found good food at good prices,drink prices good. Pier view was great.(especially watching incoming storm until we had to take cover)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Like being in the Keys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We walked to Fishheads three times while at the OBX last week. What a find. LOTS of beers on-tap and by the bottle/can. 10cent shrimp on Thursdays (I believe) and a band. Fish tacos where very good. Nothing like sitting in a bar, in your swim shorts, ON THE BEACH while having a snack/meal and a beer. Best view of the surf while eating in the OBX. Reminds me of similar places in the Florida Keys. Crowd includes locals and tourists. Eat, drink and dance the night away under the stars! Then stumble home along the beach and surf.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Heads Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Fish Heads Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Heads Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.