We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, clean and beachy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Motel
Save
You added Blue Heron Motel to your Saves list
6811 S Virginia Dare Tr, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Dumfries, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value, clean and beachy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

A typical old fashioned motel facade on a strip of tourist lodgings. We rented the honeymoon suite as it was the only available room. It was clean and spare upon entry with an equipped kitchenette. The jacuzzi was another plus. The room had a great outdoor balcony with beautiful views of the dunes, Atlantic ocean with beach, and Jennette's pier. It was lovely to open the balcony doors and hear the ocean surf and see the sunrise. Walking to the beach was a major plus. We collected seashells, exercised and enjoyed beach swims within seconds of leaving our room. Small, modest but clean indoor and outdoor pools let us enjoy water time after dark. Very conveniently located to shops, restaurants, Manteo, and road to Cape Hatteras and Ocracoke.

One drawback was an incense like smell in the room that the staff did not detect until we got there. They brought us an electric air freshener and with the balcony doors it eventually dissipated.

Room Tip: Rooms in levels 2-3 have ocean view with first level facing dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    57
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
37
82
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Kentucky
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This is our second trip to Blue Heron. My wife and I just stayed five nights here. The accommodations are bar none and the all ocean front rooms are great. This is an older motel but it is probably the cleanest place that we've stayed at. They have an indoor pool and a couple of outdoor pools. I would suggest getting a second or third floor room so you can see the ocean over the dune. It's a short walk to Jennette's Pier. We look forward to coming back! Thanks for the great hospitality.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our long wkend was about friends turning 50! Celebrated at Sugar Creek Restaurant (Awesome food and service) & enjoying the beach. And what a bonus Jennette's Pier being so close.
We all had such a great time, Hotel, Restaurant and Beach made the time we spent in Nags Head the best. We are planning this to become a regular event.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach! Room was clean and all the staff were very nice and helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This place is truly amazing from the moment we stepped onto the property until we had to leave due to the impending hurricane it was an awesome experience. We arrived and were greeted by Kathy. She is very genuine and gave us excellent recommendations we felt comfortable and relaxed and welcomed. I cannot say enough about the property itself, it truly met our needs and exceeded our expectations. The service is by far outstanding from the first phone call to a follow up call, our arrival and a sad departure. They really have something special here and we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We are so glad we found this hotel. This is a smaller family owned property. The office staff was extremely helpful and a pleasure to deal with. The hotel is a little older, but very well taken care of. We stayed on the second floor in room 10. The second and third floor rooms offer views of the ocean. There is no elevator but that was not an issue for us. Our room had a beautiful view of the beach and ocean. The room was a nice size and had everything we needed. Our room also had a small kitchen that came in handy for a few meals. We enjoyed eating on our balcony enjoying the ocean views. The property has an outdoor pool that looked beautiful. They also have an indoor pool on the property. The beach and ocean is a very short walk from the building. This is a true ocean front property.
The room keeping staff does an incredible job keeping the rooms spotless. They were always pleasant and willing to visit with us and wanted to make sure we were having the best stay possible.
Our only regret was that we could not stay here longer than we did. We would love to come back here if we ever make it to the OBX again.

Room Tip: Second and third floor rooms have an ocean view. Second floor room 10 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I Had a wonderful stay. we had 3 rooms for our children, grandchildren and my service dog as my husband and i are disabled. the rooms were large lots of room my wheelchair and for the kids to slumber with sleeping bags while watching movies before bed. the inside pool was wonderful to enjoy a swim in the heat of the day even when it gets to hot for us on the beach or it rains. rooms very clean the walk ways gave easy access to the viewing deck, friendly maid service. extra towels when needed. total of 10 in our party age 3 to 50 we all had a lovely time room out side for kids to be kids and us to relax. can't wait to go this year.

Room Tip: there is no ocean view from first floor blocked by dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

repeat visitor ... the rooms are nice .... the staff is excellent ... very happy.
easy access to the beach, near great eateries, very clean rooms.
3 pools and the ocean, what isn't there to love. one indoor pool and a hotrub.
2 outdoor pools.
I always bring my own pillows no matter where I go.
the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Heron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Motel

Address: 6811 S Virginia Dare Tr, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Nags Head
Blue Heron Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.