We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Motel
Save Saved
You added Blue Heron Motel to your Saves list
6811 S Virginia Dare Tr, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This place is truly amazing from the moment we stepped onto the property until we had to leave due to the impending hurricane it was an awesome experience. We arrived and were greeted by Kathy. She is very genuine and gave us excellent recommendations we felt comfortable and relaxed and welcomed. I cannot say enough about the property itself, it truly met our needs and exceeded our expectations. The service is by far outstanding from the first phone call to a follow up call, our arrival and a sad departure. They really have something special here and we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    54
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
37
80
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We are so glad we found this hotel. This is a smaller family owned property. The office staff was extremely helpful and a pleasure to deal with. The hotel is a little older, but very well taken care of. We stayed on the second floor in room 10. The second and third floor rooms offer views of the ocean. There is no elevator but that was not an issue for us. Our room had a beautiful view of the beach and ocean. The room was a nice size and had everything we needed. Our room also had a small kitchen that came in handy for a few meals. We enjoyed eating on our balcony enjoying the ocean views. The property has an outdoor pool that looked beautiful. They also have an indoor pool on the property. The beach and ocean is a very short walk from the building. This is a true ocean front property.
The room keeping staff does an incredible job keeping the rooms spotless. They were always pleasant and willing to visit with us and wanted to make sure we were having the best stay possible.
Our only regret was that we could not stay here longer than we did. We would love to come back here if we ever make it to the OBX again.

Room Tip: Second and third floor rooms have an ocean view. Second floor room 10 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I Had a wonderful stay. we had 3 rooms for our children, grandchildren and my service dog as my husband and i are disabled. the rooms were large lots of room my wheelchair and for the kids to slumber with sleeping bags while watching movies before bed. the inside pool was wonderful to enjoy a swim in the heat of the day even when it gets to hot for us on the beach or it rains. rooms very clean the walk ways gave easy access to the viewing deck, friendly maid service. extra towels when needed. total of 10 in our party age 3 to 50 we all had a lovely time room out side for kids to be kids and us to relax. can't wait to go this year.

Room Tip: there is no ocean view from first floor blocked by dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

repeat visitor ... the rooms are nice .... the staff is excellent ... very happy.
easy access to the beach, near great eateries, very clean rooms.
3 pools and the ocean, what isn't there to love. one indoor pool and a hotrub.
2 outdoor pools.
I always bring my own pillows no matter where I go.
the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I chose this motel after searching TripAdvisor, needing a good location at a good price. This was it!! The motel was perfect for our 5 days/ 4 nights on the northern Outer Banks. The location was convenient to all tourist sites of Corolla, Kitty Hawk, Manteo and Cape Hatteras National Seashore. The Motel sits on the beach drive, a block from the busy traffic, so a quiet location for couples or small families. ALL ROOMS are ocean front with a private porch but be aware the first floor probably cannot see over the dune. Also there is no elevator, so physically challenged would stay on the first floor.

On entering the room, I was impressed with the clean appearance and smell. (No smoking allowed.) The bath was also spotless. The view was perfect. We were in room 14, which was on the 3rd floor north end with an unobstructed view to the ocean, the north coast and even the sunset over the sound in the west. *Ask for this room.* It also gets a nice breeze so we spent loved our private porch. Did I mention the ocean is about fifty steps away? Much closer than it appeared in the pictures. The pools were nice, though the temp was a little too cool for me to swim. Didn't try the indoor pool. Only negative was that the bathroom had no vanity to put all your "stuff" on. Also we had to drive to Kill Devil Hills for restaurants, which was fine except it took a bit of searching to find a good breakfast spot. (May I recommend Stackem High in Kill Devil Hills.)

If we return to Nags Head, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for second or third floor for the view. Room 14 is the best unless you need an efficiency.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh, nc
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I were shopping for place to stay May 16th on the OBX before the season starts up and rates go crazy, found Blue Heron Motel on TripAdvisor, this place is a gem, not fancy, maybe a little dated, but we wanted oceanfront, they put us on the third floor in an efficiency, had a small kitchenette and full size fridge, I do not think all the rooms have kitchens, this room was clean, enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub, we will come back! Peace2U

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor to get above the dunes! Bring you own coffee to enjoy the sunrise on the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was a lovely little motel. It was very clean and from the 3rd floor had lovely views out the front of the sound, and of the ocean from the back. I'm glad I saw the reviews saying to bring your own pillows as it was slightly smokey smelling. Also bring your own shampoos, hair dryers, etc. The staff was friendly and made you feel comfortable. The pools were really nice. The price in June was seventy-five dollars less per night than a Hampton Inn with no character.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Heron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Motel

Address: 6811 S Virginia Dare Tr, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Nags Head
Blue Heron Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.