We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay but needs some work” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Motel
Save
You added Blue Heron Motel to your Saves list
6811 S Virginia Dare Tr, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Fairfax
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great place to stay but needs some work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have been staying at the Blue Heron for years and years. As other reviewers have said, it's clean, the staff is nice, the rates are good, the rooms are large and all face the ocean (those on the second and third floors have a wonderful ocean view), and it's in a great location. We had an efficiency with another adjoining room which worked perfectly for the five of us. It was comfortable and we certainly enjoyed our stay. I do agree with some other reviews that they need to do some updating of the rooms and amenities. Some aspects of the hotel are starting to look a little run-down; for example, the cabinets in our kitchen were so very old as was the TV in our other unit (our efficiency did have a flat screen TV). Would be nice to upgrade the bathrooms, too. Modern lighting wouldn't hurt either. My nieces loved the indoor swimming pool and that was certainly a bonus since our weather wasn't good and we couldn't go on the beach.

Room Tip: If you want a good ocean view, choose the second or third floor rooms. Remember, however, there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    57
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
37
82
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. Staff were very friendly, and we had a seamless experience checking in. We had a king room on the 3rd floor with a view of the ocean that was to die for. The cleanliness of the room was immaculate. Bed was comfortable, and it was great to have a mini fridge and microwave to use. The TV was a little small for our liking, but we got used to it. The balcony area is private and spacious. The only complaint would be the lighting outside of the front door was very bright, and made for a difficult time falling asleep. We didn't use the indoor pool, but it was very clean inside. There is also a soda machine and ice machine on the first floor. We can't wait to stay here again in September!

Room Tip: 3rd floor has a full ocean view. 2nd floor the ocean is mostly blocked by the dunes. 1st floor you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarboro, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This motel is very, very clean I will say that and staff are extremely nice. Rooms are large, great views of both sound and ocean. Beds are uncomfortable, microwaves 20 yrs old, 19" TV with terrible sound, Indoor pool was nice. Sound proofing not good kids running early in the morning sounded like they were coming through the wall or ceiling, Price was right, cheapest motel over here with ocean view,

Room Tip: Good ocean views , no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The room was immaculately clean, and comfortable. We lived hanging out in the room. We stayed in December. The heater is very quiet and efficient, I suspect the air conditioning works well too. It is a short walk to Jenette's Pier, which is part of the North Carolina Aquariums. Lots of people surf fish there or use the rather impressive pier. People drive on the beach so if you're looking for a place for leisurely walks, this is not it, the sand is disturbed and hard to walk in. However, for relaxing in the room the location is great. It is very, very close to the ocean. The balcony view is pleasant. No smoking is allowed on the balconies, a real plus. We stayed in an efficiency with a small stove. It had an oven, unlike many places. The kitchen is quite small, but if you're not cooking an extravagant meal it is fine. Staff were nice. The only major issue we had was the Wi-Fi. In room 11, we could not get signal unless we stood at the door, and there it was slow and unreliable. It turned out to be a good thing for us to unplug a little though, and we had great cell signal so could use a 4g mobile hotspot when absolutely necessary. Overall, this is a very nice little hotel for relaxing by the ocean.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a fancy hotel with all the finest, then don't even get out of your car. BUT if you want a CLEAN hotel with amazing views, friendly people, and resonable rates then The Blue Heron is for you. We have stayed a lot of places up and down the Outer Banks and the Blue Heron is our favorite.2nd and 3rd floor has best views.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Gap, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is ok for a 3-4 day stay but if you are planning on staying more than a week, it can get a little claustrophobic in the small rooms, especially if you are traveling with two kids! The rooms all have two double beds, an old analog color tv, a table with two chairs, a bathroom, and a balcony. The balconies are a great addition to the room, a great place to dry beach towels or just relax with a cup of coffee in the morning. The rooms need some major updates. The wallpaper is very 1990's -esque, and so are the bed comforters! The outside of the motel needs a major paint job, and the parking lot is cracking and ugly looking. The efficiencies have super small ovens (one year we tried to cook a pizza and the sides of the pizza had to be curled up to fit inside and once the pizza started to cook the whole room filled with smoke as if the oven hadn't been cooked in for years.) The bathrooms are very outdated as well. Other than the aesthetics of the motel, the service is good and the owners are very kind and welcoming. This motel has beautiful indoor and outdoor pool areas and a boardwalk to the beach. All rooms are ocean front but you have to stay on the 3rd floor to get the absolute best view. The second floor is ok, the ocean is only partially blocked by the dunes, and if you get a room on the first floor you wont see any ocean at all because of the dunes. This motel, aside from being a little outdated, are fairly clean and well kept. Just make sure you are ready to look at a lot of floral prints during your stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room on the 3rd floor for the best ocean view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Every year for ten years of my elderly mother's life she and I took a trip for a week or two. We would look at a map of the US and say "that looks neat lets go there." We would hop on a plane, rent a car and explore places we'd never Been. We didn't have GPS or Internet then so we took our AAA books, maps and flew by the seat of our pants. We flew to Myrtle Beach and drove up the coast to the Outer Banks staying at any place that looked good. We found mediocre places, nice places and a few Gems. One of theses gems was the Blue Heron Motel. We got a first floor efficiency room on the ocean front. The dunes blocked the view of the ocean, but not the sound of the waves and the ocean breeze. There was a nice sidewalk from our room to the beach which made it easy for my mother to get to the beach. The prices were more than reasonable and the room was clean, roomy and well stocked with a screen door and widows that opened to let in the air. We stayed for three days. The people who owned it were lovely! This was one of the fondest memories of time spent with my mom ever! I fell in love with Nags Head and the Outer Banks. It was August 2009 when we were there but I stopped by September 2013 and it looks even nicer now.

Room Tip: We loved the walk out of the first floor north corner room. Less stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Heron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Motel

Address: 6811 S Virginia Dare Tr, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Nags Head
Blue Heron Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.