We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean And Simply Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Motel
Save
You added Blue Heron Motel to your Saves list
6811 S Virginia Dare Tr, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean And Simply Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Happy...simple, clean...wonderful!
Look past the dated decor at wonderful views...happy friendly front desk...great location!!!
Watched the sunrise from your bed...love it!!!

Will go back gain. I can see why families come back year after year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    57
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
37
82
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We tried this hotel out for our last night on the outerbanks. The rooms were large and very clean. Every room is ocean front so that was a huge plus! The swimming pools were very clean. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a perfect hotel for someone who is looking for a reasonably priced, oceanfront place to stay in the Outer Banks. There are a minimum of services (no breakfast, restaurant, or elevator), but the rooms are very clean with daily maid service. The décor was a bit dated, but not at all rundown. The carpeting in the bedroom was not worn, the bedspreads and draperies were cute and covered with seashells, and there was adequate lighting. The bathroom was very clean. The tile was baby blue, but everything looked freshly painted and grouted. Only soap is provided (no shampoo etc.) but most people bring what they prefer to use with them anyway. The bath towels were very small. Don't count on wrapping one around you for privacy. We had a room on the third floor and the view from our balcony was spectacular. We would sit out there with a glass of wine in the evening and just relax. There is no elevator, so plan on carrying your luggage up 2 flights of stairs, but if you can manage that it is well worth it. After all, quite a number of the people coming here will go on to climb over 200 steps to the top of the local lighthouses. My only complaint was that the free internet was so weak that it was virtually useless. That might be because of our room location. We were far away from the office. Parking was never a problem, and the Blue Heron's location was convenient to shopping and restaurants. There are also indoor and outdoor pools.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the climb up the stairs, the third floor was spectacular ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here last spring on a fishing trip. rooms have ocean view and porch. These are the cleanest rooms of any place we have stayed in some time. Location is great and close to everything. Family owned and very relaxing hotel. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Beach front- you literally arrive, walk onto the beach and start enjoying. oGreat location ( walking distance from Jeanette's Pier) with reasonable price, for this reason alone I would probably stay again, plus it was family owned and they were friendly. Outdoor and indoor pool, and indoor hot tub. The interior is dated to the early 80's, and weather worn. They do not have the small practical things you expect in chain hotel room such as hair dryer and plastic bag for wer swimsuits! Also, it would be nice is they had washing machine and dryer for public use so that you didn't have to drag dirty/wet swimsuits back home!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have stayed at the Blue Heron multiple times with my family and have not been disappointed. You cannot beat the location, right on the beach in the heart of Nag's Head.

While the motel is dated, it's charming. Extremely clean and safe and the staff are courteous and helpful.

During my most recent stay, I accidentally left a necklace in the room and realized it when we got home. I called the main office to let them know to keep an eye out for it. A few days later it showed up in my mailbox! I didn't even have to pay for shipping!

We will definitely return, hopefully many time!

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor if you can - best ocean view! Second floor will give you a good one too ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here over bike week in April and it was so very nice and quiet. The pool and hot tub indoors was perfect. The weather outdoors was not cooperating and so we enjoyed the hot tub every night. The location was great too. Right on the beach, far enough away from the hustle and bustle to be quiet and close enough to shopping, restaraunts and attractions that we never had far to drive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Heron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Motel

Address: 6811 S Virginia Dare Tr, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Nags Head
Blue Heron Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.