We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Motel
Save Saved
You added Blue Heron Motel to your Saves list
6811 S Virginia Dare Tr, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
Iowa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Beach front- you literally arrive, walk onto the beach and start enjoying. oGreat location ( walking distance from Jeanette's Pier) with reasonable price, for this reason alone I would probably stay again, plus it was family owned and they were friendly. Outdoor and indoor pool, and indoor hot tub. The interior is dated to the early 80's, and weather worn. They do not have the small practical things you expect in chain hotel room such as hair dryer and plastic bag for wer swimsuits! Also, it would be nice is they had washing machine and dryer for public use so that you didn't have to drag dirty/wet swimsuits back home!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    52
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
37
76
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have stayed at the Blue Heron multiple times with my family and have not been disappointed. You cannot beat the location, right on the beach in the heart of Nag's Head.

While the motel is dated, it's charming. Extremely clean and safe and the staff are courteous and helpful.

During my most recent stay, I accidentally left a necklace in the room and realized it when we got home. I called the main office to let them know to keep an eye out for it. A few days later it showed up in my mailbox! I didn't even have to pay for shipping!

We will definitely return, hopefully many time!

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor if you can - best ocean view! Second floor will give you a good one too ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here over bike week in April and it was so very nice and quiet. The pool and hot tub indoors was perfect. The weather outdoors was not cooperating and so we enjoyed the hot tub every night. The location was great too. Right on the beach, far enough away from the hustle and bustle to be quiet and close enough to shopping, restaraunts and attractions that we never had far to drive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This motel is everything and a bag of chips. We were there April 7 through April 12, 2013. It is no frills, but who needs them when you can sleep with your balcony door open and hear the ocean? It is perfectly clean and meticulously maintained. The staff is very friendly and have great suggestions for restaurants and the best sight seeing. It takes about 1 minute to take the stairs, cross the dune and be on the beach. The only thing we could have asked for was a hook on the back of the bathroom door!

Room Tip: Loved our view of the ocean from the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice family owned ocean front hotel in Nags Head, where all of the rooms are ocean side. There's nothing fancy about the hotel - four drawers for clothes, a small area to hang clothes, no restaurant - but it is clean, well maintained and has both an indoor and an outdoor pool. The indoor pool is open year round, so be sure to bring your bathing suit, even if you visit during cooler months. (There is a changing room, too, so you don't have to venture out in the cold in your bathing suit.) We have stayed here on multiple occasions and have never been disappointed. This time, we had a room on the third floor with a comfortable king-sized bed and a wonderful view of the ocean and Jennette's Pier. The pier is walkable - about a 15 minute stroll along the beach.

Room Tip: second or third floor allows you to see the ocean - first floor provides a view of the dune
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Blue Heron. It was as good as the first (October 2012). Modest motel. Great staff. Clean rooms. Great views from 3rd floor. Accommodations are basic, but the view and the service can't be beat. Free passes to local YMCA.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor if you don't mind climbing stairs. The view is worth the climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just returned from another great stay at the Blue Heron. This is the place for people who love the beach and go to Nags Head for the true beach experience. It doesn't have the frills of other hotels - but what it does have is spotless rooms and amazing views of the ocean and sound. Our second floor efficiency had everything we needed and more for a comfortable, relaxing few days on the beach. The staff are friendly and the cleaning staff truly go out of their way to make sure the rooms are maintained at the highest level of cleanliness. One day the wind made the low temperature frigid - but the dear housekeeper was on the balcony washing the picture window so we would have a clear view. You might find something more fancy.....but you won't find any place any better than the Blue Heron.

Room Tip: View of the ocean are better from the second and third floors. First floor views are blocked by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Heron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Motel

Address: 6811 S Virginia Dare Tr, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Nags Head
Blue Heron Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.