We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Nostalgic Motel Nags Head” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Motel
6811 S Virginia Dare Tr, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
Brownstown Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Nostalgic Motel Nags Head”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This motel is everything and a bag of chips. We were there April 7 through April 12, 2013. It is no frills, but who needs them when you can sleep with your balcony door open and hear the ocean? It is perfectly clean and meticulously maintained. The staff is very friendly and have great suggestions for restaurants and the best sight seeing. It takes about 1 minute to take the stairs, cross the dune and be on the beach. The only thing we could have asked for was a hook on the back of the bathroom door!

Room Tip: Loved our view of the ocean from the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    51
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
37
75
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice family owned ocean front hotel in Nags Head, where all of the rooms are ocean side. There's nothing fancy about the hotel - four drawers for clothes, a small area to hang clothes, no restaurant - but it is clean, well maintained and has both an indoor and an outdoor pool. The indoor pool is open year round, so be sure to bring your bathing suit, even if you visit during cooler months. (There is a changing room, too, so you don't have to venture out in the cold in your bathing suit.) We have stayed here on multiple occasions and have never been disappointed. This time, we had a room on the third floor with a comfortable king-sized bed and a wonderful view of the ocean and Jennette's Pier. The pier is walkable - about a 15 minute stroll along the beach.

Room Tip: second or third floor allows you to see the ocean - first floor provides a view of the dune
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Blue Heron. It was as good as the first (October 2012). Modest motel. Great staff. Clean rooms. Great views from 3rd floor. Accommodations are basic, but the view and the service can't be beat. Free passes to local YMCA.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor if you don't mind climbing stairs. The view is worth the climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just returned from another great stay at the Blue Heron. This is the place for people who love the beach and go to Nags Head for the true beach experience. It doesn't have the frills of other hotels - but what it does have is spotless rooms and amazing views of the ocean and sound. Our second floor efficiency had everything we needed and more for a comfortable, relaxing few days on the beach. The staff are friendly and the cleaning staff truly go out of their way to make sure the rooms are maintained at the highest level of cleanliness. One day the wind made the low temperature frigid - but the dear housekeeper was on the balcony washing the picture window so we would have a clear view. You might find something more fancy.....but you won't find any place any better than the Blue Heron.

Room Tip: View of the ocean are better from the second and third floors. First floor views are blocked by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marydel, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Returned to the Blue Heron after 11 years,and the hotel is still family owned and friendly. The staff is very helpful and you get the feeling you are a guest in their home. The units and grounds are spotless and they all face the ocean. The complex is in great shape, even after taking all those hurricane beatings over the years. The rates are CHEAP! and the South Beach Grill is across the street, with decent food and drink and a local flavor. The Blue Heron is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed here for the first time with my young children for a vacation to OBX. Here are the pros and the cons, in my opinion:

The pros:
- The motel obviously makes an effort to maintain cleanliness, which is a top priority of mine
- The maintenance man was very kind and helpful to my family
- The motel has a family atmosphere in general, and there were numerous people there when we stayed who were return guests from previous years and were loyal to the Blue Heron
- The location is great, as it is a very short walk to the pier as well as very convenient to numerous stores, restaurants, etc.
- The beach front views from the room are great. We were on the second floor, and didn't have quite the view I would've hoped for, but it was still better than looking out onto a parking lot (which is the case at many other motels)
- The motel has a little birdhouse in the front which is populated by purple martins; the birdhouse is designed as a miniature version of the motel itself. This was a neat little feature that could be viewed from all rooms.

The cons:
- The motel, overall, was extremely uncomfortable for us. We're not used to traveling in luxury accommodations, but this was really "roughing it", in our opinion. The air conditioner window unit in the room did not work properly, and the room was constantly either freezing or burning. I developed a runny nose on the trip from the air. The bathroom was incredibly small, to the point that only one person could fit in there at a time. Not for the claustrophobic.
- The wood paneling in the room was extremely out-dated, as were the furniture and "decor". It felt like we had time warped to the 1970's.
- The refridgerator in our room was actually a mini-fridge that did not keep things cold at all. It was warm inside of it.
- The bed and pillows were very, very hard. I did not sleep well on this trip.
- As others have mentioned, there were no amenities whatsoever in the room. Please bring everything that you need, and do not make the mistake of counting on the refridgerator to keep your food or beverages cold for you on your vacation.
- People staying in the room above ours were vomiting off of their third floor balcony; the vomit was falling onto the ground below, and remained there that morning. My children walked past it. This was gross. This could happen anywhere, I guess, so it's not really fair to blame it on the motel.

I do not think that I would return to this motel, mostly due to the extreme discomfort that we felt on this trip. However, for those who do not mind the above issues I mentioned, or for those just looking for a place to stay overnight, I think that this would be a very good choice. They do have very reasonable rates, and I felt like they were making a sincere effort. I have stayed in some filthy motels, and this motel was definitely CLEAN; it was just very uncomfortable, if that makes sense. Nonetheless, my family has very good memories from this trip, and those memories are what matter the most.

Thank you

Room Tip: If you get the first floor room, you will not be able to see the beach front. From the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericktown, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Even though this is an older motel, it is very clean and modestly updated. The lady in charge of cleaning has worked at the hotel for over forty years and they take pride in how well maintained they keep it. Every room has a balcony/ porch facing the ocean, and from the front of your room you can see the Sound making you have the "island feel". When staying here, you have private access to the beautiful beach right outside your door. The Blue Heron has an indoor pool and hot tub, along with an outdoor pool. One thing we really enjoyed was their LARGE ice machine to fill up our coolers for no cost. Staying here means that you are just down the beach from Jeanette's Pier, which is fun to explore and free to walk out on and fish. The Blue Heron is located in the Nags Head part of OBX which is our favorite because you are close to so many great restaurants and activities. If you do come here, you have to try Millers, and Pamlico Jacks! Best places to eat with great atmospheres!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Heron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Motel

Address: 6811 S Virginia Dare Tr, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Nags Head
Blue Heron Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Heron Motel to your Saves list