We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront but pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Oceanfront Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Oceanfront Motel to your Saves list
Dolphin Oceanfront Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   8017 Old Oregon Inlet Road, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
West Bend, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beachfront but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was our 2nd time staying at the Dolphin. The last hurricane that went through gave them enough insurance money to redo the rooms faceing the ocean with doors that open right onto the beach. BUT! They are chargeing a lot more money for them too. The room was very basic. No phone or other amenities such as breakfast, tissue, shampoo, conditioner etc. For that price we could have stayed next door at the Comfort Inn and been more comfortable, just would have had to walk a few more steps to the beach. We paid much more for the room than we did 2 years ago. New doors are expensive, I guess.

Room Tip: Was fun having a door to the beach but it is not necessary. Other rooms are only a few steps away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
13
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I have not taken a vacation in 6 or 7 years. We picked the week of 'Sandy' (weeks in advance) to stay at The Dolphin Oceanfront Motel, in an oceanfront room. We were given our choice since there weren't many guest,because of the storm. We arrived way before check-in on Friday and chose our room. The room was clean and had microwave, fridge, and a large coffee pot (which in itself was a plus). The walls and ceiling were (like the pictures) hard beautiful wood and gave ya the feel of a cabin.Plenty of room for us and our chiauhauh's. The awesomeness of opening the patio doors and hearing(and seeing) the ocean waves were so relaxing. We were suppose to stay for 3 nights, but had to leave after the 2nd night,because of 'Sandy'. (Waves were all the way up the beach and pounding patio doors.) Jim, the manager, was a very, very nice and helpful person. We will go back there hopefully, often. PS- Were refunded 1 nights stay, so Thank-you,Mr. Jim for that and the great customer service.! Hope you made it through the storm OK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Dolphin Motel for a week and while we were glad to have a room in walking distance to the beach and by the new pier it was SUPER tiny. This motel is older and the website is very precise in it's pictures. I took for granted the fact that I didn't see a microwave in the website pics. There was not one. If I was going to stay here again I would definitly stay in one of the few ocean front rooms the hotel offers.
The staff was very friendly and the rooms were always cleaned. The room had tile floors so they got pretty sandy by the end of the evening. But they were always sand free after the maid came to clean.

It was a pet friendly motel too so we got to meet lots of dogs. Which was fun. I must say that I did like the little porch. I enjoyed sitting out there every evening in front of our room and reading.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great little hotel, right on the beach. Terrific location, within walking distance to market, 7-11, ice cream stand & Sam & omie's. The main problem was the bedding...very firm, hard mattresses made me stiff & sore the next day for hours. Owners are nice & friendly. Probably won't be back unless the beds are replaced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward22, Owner at Dolphin Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are continually looking for ways to improve the guest experience at Dolphin. We have plans to replace our Queen mattresses this offseason as one of our year end improvements.

We do hope you reconsider and will give us another try. We pledge to provide clean, convenient oceanfront accommodations as we have for years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel brings you back to the old 1960 motor lodge. Basic room very clean and the staff very nice. You are less then 100 yards from the beach. You get what you pay for here and nothing else . Don't expect a Marriott or a Hilton not even a Holiday inn Express. This hotel is gives you the basics and that's it, the upside its close to the beach!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I started my vacation this year with 2 nights at the Dolphin before I checked in to my vacation home for the week. Jim and the crew at Dolphin were more than accommodating with all my requests. The customer service is above and beyond the rest. They allow pets, are oceanfront, and within walking distance to several great dining spots. My family and I will return for sure during our next OBX Vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Oceanfront Motel

Address: 8017 Old Oregon Inlet Road, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Oceanfront Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Dolphin Oceanfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Dolphin Oceanfront Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Oceanfront Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.