We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cahoons Store - Love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cahoon's Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cahoon's Cottages
Save
You added Cahoon's Cottages to your Saves list
7213 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cahoons Store - Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

We come to OBX every summer and dread going to Food Lion - especially on Saturday or Sunday - crowds of people and many empty shelves. When we discovered Cahoons store we were charmed and relieved. Would not do major shoping there - still need Food Lion - but when we needed milk or bread, wine or fresh mint, organic greens from a local farmer, a new sweat shirt, bitters for Mojiotos, Cahoons had it all - plus the Sunday New York Time. When you walk in the door, you hear, "Good morning. Can I help you with something?" and it sounds real nice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mineral Wells. West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

My family and I have been to Cahoons for many stays. We enjoy the setting and the people. We rent most of the time 2 or 3 cottages for the family. It is a very short distance to the beach and with 9 grand childern this is great!!!!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

We stayed in the bungalow over Labor Day weekend, since that was all that was available (booked at the last minute). It doesn't look like much from the outside, but is pretty nice (probably recently remodeled), and very cozy on the inside. Not luxurious, but we weren't looking for that anyway. The place was very clean, and had everything we expected and needed, except for a grill, which the management let us borrow from them for free, and maybe towels, but I don't remember. The location is great, just a few minutes from everything, and the store on the property does have just about anything you'll need (but prices are better at the local food lion). The rate for the bungalow was the best around too. If you stay there you'll definitely want to watch out for the cactus grass though, it will definitely get all over your shoes/sandals, DONT walk through the grass barefoot. Other than that, absolutely no problems.

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — cactus grass outside cabin
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

Booked the cottage before I read any reviews here, and felt better finding out it had gone well for others. Stayed there for a week.

Nice parts are a very easy access to the beach, and right beside/across from their general store, which has just about anything you could imagine (for a price) so you are never caught missing something and have to fight traffic or a 15-mile trip to find it. Beside restaurant, walking distance to a lot, actually.

I like the south end of Nags Head; easy access to Manteo and the national seashore. Fourth stay at OBX, so this is from a veteran.

Cottage didn't look like much from the outside but had been completely been redone on the inside, very nice, very clean, very well equipped. Everything worked. No complaints there at all. Some more 'beach stuff' like chairs to borrow or a barbecue would have been nice, but it was never inferred anyway. Towels and linens furnished, very good.

Only negative at all (and this is apparently unique to unit 10) was a 'lawn' full of those little cactus things that love Nags Head sand behind the cottage, don't even try to use the clothesline without leather boots.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, service, price
  • Disliked — Cactus stuff in lawn...surprise in sandals!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

Staying at Cahoon's Cottages has been a family tradition since my grandparents first went down over 50 years ago. My grandfather known down there as "Legs" used to take all of us grandkids (and friends) fishing on Jeanette's Pier. It is very laid back and everyone knows everyone. I am excited to carry on this family tradition with my husband and son.

Sara King Brewer Upperco, Maryland

  • Liked — It's right on the beach and it's affordable!
  • Disliked — Pets are not allowed
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2006

Charlene & crew run a very simple, yet very nice, establishment, The cottage (#6) was well maintained. The 4 bedrooms were comfortable, and the 2 bathrooms were were just what was needed by our party of 6 people. The kitchen was stocked with all of the materials that were needed to prepare meals and enjoy the spacious living area.

The beach was a mere 50 feet away and provided us with a nice setting for our mini-vacation. Several cottages across the courtyard were occupied by a family from NYC, who came down for the Easter weekend. They made great "neighbors" for a few days and emphasized that this is a family place. I felt like it was a vacation of years gone by - nothing elegant, yet everything was perfect.

Being from New England, I must admit I did not even know the Outer Banks of NC existed! Cahoon's Cottages were an economical way to explore this beautiful region of the country.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2004

Been there hundreds of times it is a great place to stay and the family that owns and operates the Cottage Court is TOPS

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cahoon's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahoon's Cottages

Address: 7213 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Nags Head
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Cahoon`s Cottages Hotel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cahoon's Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.