We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Coffee on OBX” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morning View Coffee House and Roastery

Morning View Coffee House and Roastery
2707 S Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 71 restaurants in Nags Head
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Coffee on OBX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Wish we found this place on day one. Morning View is a gem and blows away The Front Porch. The owner was very friendly and I learned that the light roast has more caffeine than the dark roast. Sipped our coffees traveling home from OBX. The muffins were moist and wonderful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    43
    7
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Morning View - It's True”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We asked at the hotel if there was a Starbucks close by. The ladies laughed and told us to go to Seven-Eleven. We asked a true Nags Head local and she recommended Morning View. Here's the skinny: Get you coffee fix at Morning View, but don't tell anyone. A regular cup of coffee at Morning View is significantly better than any cup you will get at Starbucks. For a mid-afternoon boost, try a double shot of expresso topped with the chocolate whipped cream. Forget the wi fi, turn off the smart phone, stop texting. Isolate yourself in this small cozy coffee joint and enjoy the brew. But promise, don't tell anyone where it is. A bunch of tourististas swarming this place with ruin it. BTW, the art work on the walls is very good, and for sale.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fresh Roast - Local Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Whenever I get to OBX I make a point of going to Morning View for some fresh-roasted beans to take home. This cozy enclave has everything one needs in a small, local coffee shop. The pleasing aroma of fresh coffee, local art all over the walls, music, wi-fi, and friendly atmosphere. My preferred beans: Costa Rican Rainforest.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Where the locals seem to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

As a tourist in the off-season, I found this place while searching on my Garmin. So glad I did. While enjoying a delicious cup of coffee and utilizing their free WiFi, I couldn't help but notice the number of customers who came in that the staff seemed to know. Friendly conversations, a warm and inviting sitting area, and of course, the great coffee, would certainly be a draw if I lived in the area. Sure hope I have the opportunity to return!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place for coffee and a bagel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had stopped here a couple of years ago, and enjoyed it then - stopped in again this time and still love it! The coffee was excellent, as was the iced soy mocha I had. The bagels and scones taste yummy, especially the warm white chocolate raspberry scone. Their mascot Maddy is very friendly and joined us for our snack. We tend to remember where our favorites are, and this stop is definitely on our list!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning View Coffee House and Roastery also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Morning View Coffee House and Roastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning View Coffee House and Roastery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.