We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bacon Jelly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brine and Bottle - CLOSED

The Brine and Bottle
7531 South VA Dare Trail, Suite 1D, Nags Head, NC 27959
252-715-1818
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Now serving dinner only, the Brine and Bottle specializes in seasonal Southern cuisine; unique wines; craft beer; and house-made canned goods, including, among others, old-fashioned bread and butter pickles and bacon jam.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bacon Jelly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We went inside the Brine and Bottle to get some of their famous Bacon Jelly. It is a bit pricey but we brought two home, one for the housesitter and one for ourselves and it was delicious

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    35
    23
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Nags Head”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you like creative food prepared by an accomplished chef, go here while visiting the Outer Banks. There are several small plates and not so small plates which change a bit weekly depending upon what is available to the chef. We loved everything we tried and the best way to get a flavor of what they prepare is to go to their website and review the current menu. The co-owner and beverage manager asked what kind of wine we like, let us sample one wine we were not sure of and suggested another which we ordered: a Slovenian Pinot Grigio produced at a winery on the border with Italy. A real find at a nice price. (Look at her resume on line as well.) Its a small place, so reservations are recommended unless the weather is nice and you can usually find a table on the deck overlooking the water (at least during non-season.) We will definitely be back when we visit the OBX.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordele, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“If you love food, treat yourself to a meal here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

The innkeeper at the Roanoke Inn recommended The Brine & The Bottle to us. What a delightful restaurant to find! We love good food and were not disappointed here. One reviewer noted "small" portions, but that defines tapas. Our soft shell crab with sweet and sour braised cabbage was so good we ordered a second. The house-pulled mozzarella was served with an amazing pesto and olive tapenade, both bursting with flavor. My only complaint would be the fried pickles were sliced so thinly that they did not have a lot of pickle flavor. Having said that, overall our food was head and shoulders above the typical OBX fare. The wine list was small, but diverses, and we thoroughly enjoyed the Sancerre we ordered. For anyone seeking an interesting and appetizing dining experience, The Brine & The Bottle should be at the top of your list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We ate outside on the deck right on the water. Wonderful view with the sunset. Inside decor was a little run down. Expected it to be a little more formal and/or hip. The deck could use a little facelift as well. Service was excellent. We had the caramelized Brussels sprouts, the fish of the day dish (Tile Fish) and the shrimp with grits. Everything was excellent. We were disappointed that they didnt have a mixed greens salad...only a spinach salad, but otherwise everything was perfect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basking ridge
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“if you're in the mood for something a little different...........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

B&B is not yer average Nags head restaurant...and if you've ever been to Nags head, you know that the vast majority of restaurants are ....er.....crap. this is not one of them! small, place but with an open feel; a menu that is eclectic and yet satisfying. small portions but top quality, great service and great wines. oh...and a vinyl collection which they will play for you!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brine and Bottle also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brine and Bottle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.