We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best weekend ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodie Island Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bodie Island Resort
8123 S. Old Oregon Inlet Road, Nags Head, NC 27949   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Best weekend ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Bodie Island Resort and we had the best service. First of all, we arrived early and our room was ready before check-in. Everyone at the resort was soooo nice. The room was nice and clean. The view from my balcony was amazing! We were within walking distance to Jennette's pier. I wish there was a Bodie Island Resort in every city I visited.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NagsHeadRental, Guest Relations Manager at Bodie Island Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your vacation! Hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    10
    3
    1
    9
See reviews for
17
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I booked about 24 hrs before arrival and the very end of season and scored a great last minute deal for unit 106 which has the most amazing balcony view and 2 sliding doors (mstr and l/r).
I note this because my deal certainly makes me more forgiving - If I had to pay full price my review might be a bit tougher.

PROS - the view!!!!! thelarge balcony and great high table and chairs perfect for dining al fresco. the 2 sliding doors showcasing the view and letting in the air from the Mstr BR and the L/R. The renovated furniture in the L/R and D/R. Tons of light. New carpet. Pool on site great for kids. Playground and grills. Access to beach, just steps away. Wash/Dryer in unit. Dishwasher. Nice they provide starter kit for soap, toilet paper and paper towels. Surprised to find towels and a bar of soap. Linens provided is a bonus (but only if they are clean). Having plates/dishes/utensils and some pans (even if a bit rough) was a plus. large TV in LR and Mstr BR. DVD player in LR (we had alot of rain so this came in handy a couple nights for the kids) Coffee pot and filters and toaster and microwave, fridge was large and clean. stove seemed newer electric.

CONS - each unit varies. Unit 106 has nice LR and DR but desperately needs remodel of both baths and the kitchen (they are original, kitchen smells of mold/must in cabinets) Front Bedroom smells bad of mold/must. Mattresses all cheap and/or old. Counters and carpets were clean but tile floors were disgusting, beds were made with very obviously dirty sheets/comforters. Elevator was broken and there was no sign. lint trap in dryer was full and in need of maintenance. No smoke detector in front (kids) bedroom.

For the price I got I would absolutely still come back for the view, beach access, balcony and pool... having 2 full bath and 2 bR was also great.... I am not sure I'd pay much more and I scored an amazing very last minute deal that I will not disclose. I would just come more prepared (cleaners, sheets)... you don't come to Nags Head to hang out in the room anyway!

You can tell they are still a work in progress ... it can only get better

Room Tip: ocean front... ask for renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

we booked this place last minute. should have read the reviews..the ones that indicate this place is horrible are absolutely correct. i have a feeling we got stuck in the unit that a previous reviewer said they left early. (guy did say someone checked out early... now i know why!). the only worthwhile description is "oceanfront". anything else would include severe profanity. 3rd level. no elevator, mold mold mold, doors broken, tubs broken, (gross!) carpet all stained. i didn't even want to sit on the couch it was so gross. we got their fri nite and left 1st thing sun a.m. .. i would have complained to the office but noone was around. i could tell there were probably 1 or 2 renovated units (they had new front doors and nice balcony furniture). also, people partied all nite long right outside our door .. horrible horrible horrible... if you are the poor soul who is going to stay here soon.. don't. cancel. otherwise... "i told you so!!". ughhh.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NagsHeadRental, Guest Relations Manager at Bodie Island Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
I am sorry you had a bad experience during your vacation here. The building and property sat dormant for eight years, between 2003 and 2010. My company took over the project in 2009, and began renovations in 2010. However, it is a HUGE project, and undertaking. We are working revitalizing hard at revitalizing the resort, and it will take time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I am very upset that we had to cut our vacation and leave this nasty place after everyone was bit by fleas that were in the carpet and when we went to the management they didn't do anything about it! The elevator doesn't work and we had to clime 4 levels with all our stuff and 2 children. It's a night mare! The beds are nasty that we went and got a sleeping air mattress. The bathrooms are very old. We never had a miserable time in any vacation like this one. We went to the doctor to find out what kind of bites we have on our skin and when we found out that it's fleas we packed and left the place. We hired a laywer to deal with this matter because the management people always drunk and can't even open their eyes to look at you. Don't go there!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NagsHeadRental, Guest Relations Manager at Bodie Island Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
First, I am sorry that you had a bad experience during your vacation here.

However, we scheduled a pest exterminator to inspect the unit you stayed in immediately after your initial complaint of fleas. NO FLEAS were found. Secondly, there is a manager who lives on site as a courtesy to our guests. There are office hours clearly posted, however th. Apparently, according to this guy, being very tired at 10:30 pm is the same as being too drunk to look you in the eyes. Also, his lawyer is his wife. So truly, he didn't hire any lawyer. Lies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We went to Bodie Island Resort with a bunch of friends and family and stayed in a few different condos. Let's just say some of us got lucky and got newly renovated condos! I'm glad I was one of the lucky ones! Units 105 and 106 are oceanfront, side by side and newly renovated...absolutely beautiful! Perfect for going down with another family. Wonderful amenities, prime location and an AMAZING view of the ocean! We will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Definitely need to ask for a newly renovated condo. I know units 105 and 106 are renovated and are p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NagsHeadRental, Guest Relations Manager at Bodie Island Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation here! All of the unrenovated units here at Bodie Island Resort are scheduled for renovations this winter, and should be ready for next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser, WV
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

After vacationing at Myrtle Beach for the past 10 years, we decided to vacation at Nags Head for the first time last week (July 21-28). We stayed in our friend's condo at Bodie Island Resort, unit 106. The unit was ocean front. It was recently remodeled and very tastefully done. We felt so comfortable and at home there. There is a large balcony with very nice wooden furniture. We spent alot of time out there looking at the ocean. The condo was very clean. The resort itself was very nice. You had plenty of room on the beach. It wasn't overcrowded like Mrytle Beach. There were barbeque grills available on the grounds. There are 2 pools, We spent alot of time at the big pool. It was very clean and refreshing, with lots of lounge chairs, and there was never a crowd there. The location of the resort is ideal. There are convenience stores, restaurants, markets, gift shops all located very close. Jeanette's Pier is only a half mile away. The only problems we encountered was the elevator was broken at the time and the Wifi connection was not the greatest. Hopefully these problems will be corrected next year, because we definitely plan to return and stay at the same place. I highly recommend this resort for your next vacation, especially Unit 106!!!

Room Tip: Choose Unit 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NagsHeadRental, Guest Relations Manager at Bodie Island Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your business. We are constantly added and or improving our amenities. Recently added to our amenities is a wooden fence around the playground. As for the Wi-Fi signal, our internet provider is not known for it's reliability or service here on the Outer Banks.

All units are planned to be renovated by next summer, 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Second year in a row we've done a big family trip down here at Bodie Island Resort and it's been fantastic both times. Location can't be beat and we had no complaints with our unit -- even had some nice little touches like a wine cooler (saved us a lot of fridge space) and huge flatscreen TV (not that we watched all that much TV, but it was nice to have). Highly recommend this place, already looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NagsHeadRental, Guest Relations Manager at Bodie Island Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your stay here! Hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bodie Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodie Island Resort

Address: 8123 S. Old Oregon Inlet Road, Nags Head, NC 27949
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty lodging in Nags Head
Also Known As:
Bodie Island Hotel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodie Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bodie Island Resort to your Saves list