We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strip-mall superstar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Beach Grill

Blue Moon Beach Grill
4104 South Virginia Dare Trail, #16, Nags Head, NC 27959
+1 252-261-2583
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 72 Restaurants in Nags Head
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Grill, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Blue Moon Beach Grill is located at MP 13 in sunny, downtown Nags Head. We are just down the road from Jockey's Ridge in Surfside Plaza. We are open 7 days a week from 11:30 AM till 9:00 PM. Our goal is to provide each customer with a "once in a blue moon" dining experience.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Strip-mall superstar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We've had the pleasure of eating here yearly since its opening..,it has never failed to please each and every family member as well as guests. It's soo casual- a big plus at the beach! I always fall back to the fish tacos...some of the best I've ever had. So fresh! I can't fail to mention the side of black beans and rice....,the absolute best I've ever tasted! I don't know how this place has maintained it's consistency and quality, but it's hands-down our favorite "go-to" at Nags Head. When you find yourself surrounded by locals, you know you've hit the jackpot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    752
    161
    45
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food in a casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Excellent restaurant. Don't let their location in a basic strip mall fool you. The food and its preparation are first-rate. Their mahi BLT is one of my favorites. A little noisy, but great service and nice atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Like others have said, don't let the strip mall location fool you! We got there a little after 6 and we had a 15 min wait. Within 10min the wait was 35min. It was busy but the food was good! I got the Mahi Mahi BLT and it did not disappoint! My DS got the calamari was his main course. The spaghetti on the kids menu was very good. The atmosphere was loud and family friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A fun restaurant with great atmosphere and food. The walls are covered in local art which is for sale at a "reasonable price". They serve a variety of beer and alcoholic beverages. Being from Boston home of New England Clam Chowder we had to try the Crab soup which was good. Reminded me of a minestrone soup. For my meal, I love the Carribean Jerk Chicken on Rice and beans which were flavorful. Good sized portions and great service. Our drinks were being refilled without us noticing. This will definitely be one of my regular stops in the Outer banks!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Oysters? Yes please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Been wanting to try Blue Moon for several years, we just never got around to it, but finally decided to make it a point. Lunch it was. Laid back decor with a beach flair, inviting and clean. Starting off with an appetizer of Oysters Rockefeller.... WOW, simply amazing. Lunch entree of fried oyster, which we asked for an extra plate. When our entree arrived it was plated on two separate plates the size of the Hindenberg. I asked if there was an error that possibly an order for two was put in~ Not the case. Sad to say I could not finish my "half order" of oysters, fries and cole slaw. Food was hot, fresh, and local. Service was well above average, and it's certain to become a "go to" while at the Banks. Well done, Blue Moon Beach Grill, very well done indeed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moon Beach Grill also viewed

 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Blue Moon Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Beach Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.