We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed -- and off-season, too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Beach Grill

Blue Moon Beach Grill
4104 South Virginia Dare Trail, #16, Nags Head, NC 27959
+1 252-261-2583
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 72 Restaurants in Nags Head
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Grill, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Blue Moon Beach Grill is located at MP 13 in sunny, downtown Nags Head. We are just down the road from Jockey's Ridge in Surfside Plaza. We are open 7 days a week from 11:30 AM till 9:00 PM. Our goal is to provide each customer with a "once in a blue moon" dining experience.
Elizabeth City, NC
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Very impressed -- and off-season, too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had heard good things about this little restaurant, and were pleasantly surprised that it was open for lunch in the off-season (we were there on December 27). Good thing that we got there by 12:30, because shortly there was a line -- and we were soon to find out why! The food is really, really good -- with some inventive items on the menu (a burger with fried shrimp, remoulade sauce, fried onion rings, lettuce, etc., under the bun!). One of us had that, and the other had the wonderful house salad with 8 (!) fried oysters, salty, briny, yummy! Prices were very reasonable, and serving sizes were just right -- generous, but not outrageous. Service was attentive and cheerful. The Grill is in a strip mall, tucked away between the highways, and even has an ocean view from the parking lot! We will absolutely return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    752
    160
    45
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

You never know what you are going to find in a strip mall and the web menu is not exciting. But, the specials menu was incredible. I had a piece of tuna with a fennel tomato sauce that was unbelivable. Everything was fresh and wonderful

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good Beach Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

When we first saw the menu, I thought it was a bit overpriced. However, I changed my mind when we got our meals. My wife got the Buffalo Chicken Salad. It was very large and very good. I got the fish tacos with black beans and rice. It was really good and I couldn't begin to eat it all. They also have a great selection of craft beers!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great selection of beer and creative entrees!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

If you want more of a selection than fried seafood, this is the place. It was hard to decide which entree to choose, but other than that, this was a great way to relax and enjoy a great meal. Shark bites were a good appetizer and the sandwich was a delicious medley of unexpected flavors. This place is a must try for sure.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Must Try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

On our quest to try new places we put this on our list after reading other tripadvisor reviews. It really is great. We were waiting at the door when it opened and found out quickly we were glad we did; the place filled up fast. All five of us loved our food - everything was wonderful! Recommended it to a friend who was in OBX just a few weeks ago and they loved it also.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moon Beach Grill also viewed

 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Blue Moon Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Beach Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.