We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as advertised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7218 S Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 367 MP 16 1/2, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just as advertised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stay on business quite often. The place is clean and inexpensive. Yes, it is older and small, but it's also not $100-$150.00 a night (at least not in the off season). Any reasonable person would be happy staying here and saving a few bucks. Yes, the bathrooms and showers are a little small, but the bed is great, and the internet and TV work. I'm perfectly happy to save 50 bucks or more a night and stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear dctraveler23321

Thanks again your return visit, we look forward to many more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    41
    11
    12
    9
See reviews for
32
38
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel seems to be the worst place I stayed.
We chose this one just because it's in the Choicehotels network. Basically, the room has everything advertised but the quality is very decent. I can't say it was dirty, maybe the light was too dim to notice it, but there was about a dozen of flies sitting everywhere. The drain in the shower was clogged and the towels were not dry of course. This place is very close the shore, so it's very humid. Maybe that's the reason why all the finishing on the walls and on the ceiling was kind of warped with lots of gaps about half-inch wide. This was my first experience to see that in a brand-name hotel.
Not recommended, unless you really stuck at Outer Banks overnight.

Room Tip: You better stay on the second floor, it may be not so wet up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Konstantin K

Sorry to hear of the items you were unhappy with on your recent stay. Mother Nature is tough to beat and yes it is extremely humid here during the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

First they gave me incorrect directions to their location, which sent me 10 miles out of my way. They gave me a third floor room THEN told me they didn't have an elevator - or another room available. If I hadn't pre-paid on-line, I would have gone elsewhere but I was stuck. I had to take a super quick morning shower because of the lack of hot water - it was lukewarm at best. Luckily I didn't need to wash my hair that morning. Room cleanliness was not the best either - neither was the wi-fi. I was disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I thought my stay at the rodeway inn was very good, clean rooms and great people ! Fishing pier directly across the street and restaurant next door. The beach is directly across the street also and there is plenty other restaurants and plenty and plenty of different places for shopping !

Room Tip: 3rd floor for beautiful sunrise and sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Room was nice and Clean!! Everything in the room was in great shape worked properly and looked to be almost new The person athe front desk was very friendly and helpful with suggestions on what to do in the area. We will come back for sure

Room Tip: Our room had a kitchen which was a nice ammenity for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I made a reservation at another hotel but I did not stay at the other place. I was not happy with the other hotel. I got lucky and the Rodeway had a room available. It was clean. The girl at the front desk was helpful, she told me about great restaurants. Also the pier was across the road. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed for 2 nites @ end if season. Was a last minute booking, so we didn't have a lot of pet-friendly options. Rooms were clean, but old and rundown. Many things were in poor working order or broken. Shower drain was not connected and a piece of PVC pipe was sticking out if floor. Toliet was clogged on arrival and had to go to office to get plunger and fix myself. Could have been worse...All in all...no bugs and in a good central location. We were barely in the room anyway.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Address: 7218 S Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 367 MP 16 1/2, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the beautiful beaches of the Outerbanks of North Carolina. We are a small pet friendly hotel located directly across the street from the Nags Head beaches and the new Jennette's Pier NC Aquarium. We offer newly renovated rooms and suites, kitchenette and ocean view rooms are also available. Free continental breakfast and Wi-Fi is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Nags Head
Rodeway Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.