We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7218 S Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 367 MP 16 1/2, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
Spring Hill, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great price and great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Even though we didn't have pets we still gave The Rodeway Inn and Suites a try. We knew going in that there may be a chance of the room smelling like dog but surprisingly it did not. We found this 40 year old motel/hotel in a pleasant state due to it's recent renovations. The rooms have a simple decor that make you feel like you are at the beach. The staff and owner are extremely nice. You couldn't ask for a better location.

Pros- Right next door to Sam & Omie's!!! Directly across the street from Jennette's Pier!!! Directly across the street from public beach accesses and public restrooms. Right by the bridge to Manteo. The price is great!

Cons- Shower is too small. No elevator. We were in a suite on the third floor and it would wear you out if you had to go up and down the stairs a lot. WiFi was very slow.

Room Tip: The third floor suites have a view of the ocean. You are right next to the street so you will hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    36
    10
    11
    9
See reviews for
32
33
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a great little motel directly across from Jennette's Pier in Nags Head and close to a lot of restaurants and attractions on the Outer Banks. We stayed in one of the efficiency suites which had a queen bed, sofa bed, bath, and small kitchen. It was clean and the bedding/furniture was comfortable and in good condition. It's not a big room and the bathroom is a little tight, but when you're at the beach you're not going to be spending a lot of time in your room anyways! Our room had tile in the kitchen and bath and hardwood floors in the living space, which was nice when you're dealing with sandy feet and pets. We traveled with our two Boston Terriers and had a great stay. The staff was really nice and the motel was very quiet, although it was full for our entire stay. Will definitely stay here again!

A note to future travelers -- please take poop bags with you so that you can clean up after your pets. It would be nice for the motel to have one of those baggie dispensers out back in case you forget your baggie but it shouldn't be their responsibility. There was a lot of abandoned poop piles in the grassy areas where were were walking our dogs. It's hard to find nice pet-friendly lodging so please be a responsible pet owner so that you don't ruin it for the rest of us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, Owner at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear emawalton

Thank you taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your return visit

We did recently install a dog waste station to make it easier for our guests who bring their pets to be able to pick up after them

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pet friendly, clean, convenient location, reasonably priced, pleasant staff. Definitely will stay here again. No elevator, no restaurant, has a pool but appeared to be out of service at the time of our stay. Parking lot is snug but across road from the pier so may be able to park larger vehicles or boats over there. Rooms seem to have been recently renovated and are I good condition. Showers are a little snug also.

Room Tip: 3rd floor offers nice view but no elevator, so beware if stairs are an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here last minute because pet friendly options are limited. Accommodations were great for being in a tourist location. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Surprisingly clean for beach hotel.

Directly across from beach access. General store across street with wide variety of items.

Cottages are available that are connecting if you need bigger room!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Rodeway Inn in Alvin for a number of weeks now. I have enjoyed my stay very much. The front desk staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are spacious, with large bathroom vanities. The air conditioning works very well, which is extremely important in this part of the country! The shower has very good water pressure with plenty of hot water. The internet connection is very reliable. The breakfast is very good as well. Also there are plenty of good restaurants within just a few minutess drive. If you are looking for a place to stay for a while, or if you are just passing through, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time staying at the rodeway inn. We were here for the weekend and brought our two dogs. We stayed in a cottage this time and it was very accommodating. The room was big enough and extremely pet friendly. They are the cheapest place to bring pets. Everyone who worked there was very nice. The room was very affordable and exceeded my expectations. The location is great and you can walk to one side and get a meal, or the other side and get dessert and Fat Boys. I would highly recommend the rodeway inn to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, Owner at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Rprah

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad enjoyed your stay and were able to bring your pet a long with you.

Look forward to your next visit

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Got a room here at the last minute for a fishing trip to the outer bank. Across the street from new pier. good location for walking or driving. Rooms were updated, clean and comfortable. Great that we could take our dog with us, the place was very dog friendly!!! Couldn't be a better value anywhere on the outerbanks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Address: 7218 S Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 367 MP 16 1/2, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the beautiful beaches of the Outerbanks of North Carolina. We are a small pet friendly hotel located directly across the street from the Nags Head beaches and the new Jennette's Pier NC Aquarium. We offer newly renovated rooms and suites, kitchenette and ocean view rooms are also available. Free continental breakfast and Wi-Fi is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn And Suites
Rodeway Hotel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.