We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cheap and clean!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7218 S Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 367 MP 16 1/2, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Nags Head
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Cheap and clean!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed for three nights in august. Across the street from jeanette's pier. good location for walking or driving. Rooms were updated, clean and comfortable. Great that we could take our dog with us, the place was very dog friendly!!! Couldn't be a better value anyway on the outerbanks!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms were quiet and had a nice view from the outside corridor with chairs for lounging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    36
    10
    11
    9
See reviews for
32
33
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Housekeeping did not make up our "suite" the morning of our two night stay. Dirty towels were not taken and beds were not made. I was surprised that a Choice Hotel did not offer some type of breakfast. Very disappointed for the price we paid.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, Owner at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Barbara B

I am very sorry your expectations fell short on your stay. We strive for a happy guest each time they visit us. I would like to point out though that only reason your room did not receive the services you mentioned is that you had placed your "DO NOT DISTURB" sign on your door and of course housekeeping did not enter the room.

We are sorry for the misunderstanding and our on-site manager did offer to come and do whatever service your room required when you called to the lobby but you told her you didn't want it done. So I am at a loss for the poor review to our hotel based on these circumstances, but never the less apologize for your unhappiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The Rodeway Inn was able to accommodate my fiancé and I in short notice and even gave a discount since we would be checking in so late. They were very nice and the rooms were clean. What I really liked, was that the staff left our room key taped on the lobby door in an envelope for when we arrived since the lobby was closed. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

So I researched a bunch of hotels based on price, location, and reviews.

This was the best bang for my buck when I visited. So, the check in is at 1500 but I arrived at 1400 and my room was ready. There are no elevators and 3 floors so older people should keep that in mind.

The room itself is excellent. There are chairs outside for lounging. The conventional AC is new and efficient. The room is well decorated and clean. The bed is absolutely horrible. The middle was sunken and squeaky. There is a hairdryer in the room, an iron, coffee maker, LCD TV, large mirrors, mini fridge and microwave. The comforters are NOT washed frequently.

If foot steps above you bother you, try to get a 3rd floor room because I walk softly but I'm sure it was loud for those below me. There is an icemaker near the office where the morning coffee is served plus tourist info. The pool is closed after Labor Day. There is a grocery store directly across the street and Sam and Omie's is directly next door. There is a 7/11 in walking distance as well as a Citgo. The beach is directly across the street at Jeanette's Pier.

I was going to rate this place 4 stars except an employee named Kristen or Krista really irritated me. She was exceptionally rude. This was my only gripe with this hotel, otherwise I would come again and again. The owner drives a Maserati which is cool and he's pretty nice. The woman with glasses who checked me in was the nicest person at this motel (9/7/11 at 1400).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We literally just checked out today and Im on my iphone, writing this review.

This is one great surprise esp since it was my husband who made the reservations a day before we arrived. I was a little nervous when he sent me the email, confirming the reservation, seeing the tiny inn/hotel photo. I usually dont trust him with reservations but this one blew me away! I had to go to Tripadvisor to check the reviews, which were all promising!

Still I was nervous!
We arrived and met gracious Becky at front desk, who allowed us to check in 3 hrs earlier. That was bonus enough, having driven 8hrs from NJ with a dog.

As soon as we got to our room, voila! A pleasany surprise. It was kinda small for 2 adults, a 7-yo girl, and a dog but the cleanliness made up for all of it. Ive been traumatized by bed bugs we brought from a hotel in Rome so I checked the beds, which had sheets that were crisp and clean. (i think they actually WASH comforters with each visit).

The bathroom was clean, so was the sink.

Coffee also mattered so it was helpful that there was free coffee at 0700-1000.

Of course, the most important is the location!!! It is just right beside or across everything! Across the beach and Jeanette's pier, where they had a surfing competition. Its right beside a restaurant (Sam and Omie's), an ice cream place (Fat Boyz), and across a grocery. Of course, too, its a few miles away from other great restaurants.

So am I coming back? Definitely! Ive fallen in love with Nags Head and the rest of the Outer Banks!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Hotel was very close to beach and a good value for the money. Hotel was old and certainly not fancy. However, it was clean and neat with the exception of mildew on shower curtain. Mentioned it at check out and I'm sure it was corrected. Good internet connection. Only negative was family in adjoining room. We were awakened in the middle of the night by a blaring TV for about half hour. So loud I could follow dialogue of show. Adjoining restaurant was excellent also. Do not pass this hotel up because of its age.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This Rodeway inn exceeded my expectations! Located in the BEST location, right across from Janette's pier, next to a fantastic all day restaurant and across from a super convenient market. The views from the balcony were great and the free morning coffee service was awesome! It was set in the right place when I went running in the morning because it had sidewalks on both sides of the hotel and a beach right across the street so it was very easy access. The only downer was that the pool was not filled and our room was sort of small for 3 of us... but we were looking into reserving one of the beach cottages for a future stay possibly. The little gift shop was cute and everyone was so friendly. Really a great place to relax and spend vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Address: 7218 S Virginia Dare Trail, PO Box 367 MP 16 1/2, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the beautiful beaches of the Outerbanks of North Carolina. We are a small pet friendly hotel located directly across the street from the Nags Head beaches and the new Jennette's Pier NC Aquarium. We offer newly renovated rooms and suites, kitchenette and ocean view rooms are also available. Free continental breakfast and Wi-Fi is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn And Suites
Rodeway Hotel Nags Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.