We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JP Cottages

JP Cottages
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
JP Cottages
Save Saved
You added JP Cottages to your Saves list
9023 Old Oregon Inlet Rd, Nags Head, NC   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have been staying at JP Cottages for years. The location is awesome. Can't get any closer to the beach. Cottage has always been clean and comfortable. Beach is not crowded. Great place for families. We have made this our yearly vacation spot.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

loved this place the first year we went, location couldn't be beat, right on the unbelievably lovely atlantic ocean. charming little cottages, appeared to have "old outer banks feel"....second year? roaches and mice..not going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I just stayed here in early October. I have never been to the Outer Banks, and through my research the area of South Nags Head seemed perfect because it is less crowded, but still only a few miles from restaurants and shopping. I am a young Mom traveling on my own, and while I didn't want a resort because I was seeking solitude and a quiet atmosphere for photography and reading, I also didn't want to stay at a B&B. The cozy looking cottages that I saw on the website looked perfect.

I chose an ocean front, upper level cottage. I stayed during off season, so the prices were great. I actually ended up with a four bedroom unit so there was plenty of space.

I was very impressed with the level of communication of the owner/manager, Patsy Cahoon. I emailed and called several times before my departure, and always received prompt and very friendly responses. She went out of her way to make my trip easy and comfortable. The advantage to a locally owned and managed business is you really get customer service.

The unit itself was in a great location. I was taken aback by how close I was to the beach and every window in the cottage how a terrific view. The cottage is comfortably furnished. Big kitchen with cabinets stocked with dishes, silverware, pots/pans. Coffeemaker, microwave, and toaster. I didn't expect to have these things so it was nice that I didn't have to keep going out. Linens are typically not provided so sheets/towels are something you need to bring, or you can rent them if needed.

As I arrived the cottage windows were all open to air out the rooms, which was nice, as there was a strong stuffy/musty odor in the unit. In fact, that never went away, so that is one little negative; In all fairness I stayed later at a nice hotel in the area and it had an odor as well.

The place was clean, but don't expect it to be super-clean and modernized. The home is sturdy and attractive but you aren't going to find sleek new counter tops or stainless appliances; all to keep the costs down, which was a factor when deciding where to stay. There was some dust in a few corners. The carpet had a few stains.

The central air worked great, and I did have to use it during my stay. All plumbing and appliances worked well, but once again, these were older. No washer/dryer. There was only one tv in the unit, located in the living quarters. It would have been nice to have one in the bedroom, but no big deal.

Basically, this is an older unit with some wear, so you are going to see a few rust spots/paint chips here and there. If you want a super sleek, uncommonly clean and modern place to stay, this may not be it. I felt comfortable enough here. The website offers some info. and pictures of each unit are posted here.

The biggest negative, in my opinion, is the lack of internet access. The website stated that you can log in on the obx wan, but I believe that company went out of business. I literally had to drive about 7 miles one way to log in at a local coffee shop or a fast food restaurant everyday to send emails or post photos. That is more of a big deal when you are traveling alone and there is no one to talk to. Unfortunately, this may be a deal breaker for me if I travel to the area again.

The hotel I stayed in later in the week was cleaner and more modern. It had internet access and a great view, but well, it is a hotel, so you have some comforts, but less privacy and only one side has a view. For the same price per night I booked the cottage, and although not as modern or comfortable, it had 4 bedrooms, 3 baths, great views from every room and a full kitchen. My overall rating would be 3.5 stars. You decide.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I have been going to Nags Head for our vacation for over 25 years . We have raised 2 boys . We have stayed at alot of places. JP Cottages ( IS ) the best place that we have stayed byfar.. They are close to the beach & not far from anything else. We like to stay at what I like to call mom & pop places . The realty people do not care about the places they put people in, all they care about is the money.... Pat & Jerry work hard to give you A nice Cottage to stay in..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dover
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

2 year at this vacation place during Bike Week. Right on the beach, very clean and easily accessible. Great for families or a couples getaway. Not far from the main attractions of Nags Head, yet quiet in the evenings. Nothing bad to note about this place. I highly recommend checking this out for your visit to Nags Head.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at JP cottage for the last 2 spring breaks from school. Same cottage, same great atmosphere . Would definitely recommend every one stay here. Close to many restaurants and attractions. Beach area clean. Great kite flying location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A friend and I made our first trip to the Outer Banks for a 4-day hop. We found JP Cottages, and stayed in #7 which was just perfect in size and location. We had just a few feet to walk to the beach and very easy access in and out for day trips. The cottage itself was very comfortable, well appointed, clean and pleasant. We had everything we needed. It is nicely decorated, very nice fixtures and setup. I would very much recommend it and the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JP Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JP Cottages

Address: 9023 Old Oregon Inlet Rd, Nags Head, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JP Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.