We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky 12 Tavern

Lucky 12 Tavern
3308 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9264
252-255-5825
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 72 Restaurants in Nags Head
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family and I went for a lunch date, was a little nervous taking our 4 yr old thinking it was more of a bar scene but it wasn't! Great food and family friendly!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    54
    14
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed at a motel close to Lucky 12 Tavern. We didn't dine in but had take out 3 of the nights. My daughter simply loved the hand cut fries. We had salads and sandwiches that were surprisingly superb. It is well worth trying ! Prices extremely reasonable and take out was ready in 20 minutes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not so lucky for us”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

we went to lucky 12 since our rental home was within walking distance. if you are looking for below average food with average service and overpriced food
then this may be your place. the young folks there to drink only seemed to really like it but not a good choice for our family .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lucky we made it in time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Met some friends at Lucky's around 9:30 or so. We were handed a menu and told that the kitchen closes at 10 and that all that would be available was pizza, so my husband got the seafood bisque and we split crab and artichoke dip and bufffalo shrimp. My husband did not care for the soup (they were gratious and did not charge us), but besides that food was great. The buffalo shrimp are worth a trip in and of themselves. Definitely more a bar than restaurant feel, but all in all a great expierience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing beach environment with friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have been going to Lucky 12 since it has opened and it is an all around great beach spot. I have been there for numerous family meals and also for drinks with friends at night, and have always received wonderful service and quality food. As my grandmother is a neighbor of the restaurant I am fortunate to frequent Lucky 12 whenever I visit the OBX, and the owner Mark is always very kind and accommodating ( even by making sure my 90 year old grandmother is not disturbed with people parking in her driveway.) The bartenders Dylan and BJ are professional and attentive. A great spot for a meal, or just drinks! Also DJ Bose is a talented DJ who frequents Lucky 12. I highly recommend you include this spot on your visit to Nags Head.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky 12 Tavern also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Lucky 12 Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky 12 Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.