We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first OBX B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RelaxInn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RelaxInn B&B
Save
You added RelaxInn B&B to your Saves list
8008 South Old Oregon Inlet Road, PO Box 1654, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Powhatan, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Our first OBX B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have been coming to the OBX for 29 years and this was our first time staying at a B&B in Nags Head. We wanted to just relax and that is exactly what our B&B host made sure of. Their attention to detail was outstanding. We also enjoyed the homemade breakfast every morning and the great conversation with the other guest and host. This is also the first B&B that offered afternoon wine and refreshments......and we made sure we tried them all ;) If you want a very clean, comfortable, and enjoyable stay in the Outer Banks you must stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
94
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is my third return to RelaxInn B&B, and my expectations are still exceded by the amenities and hosts. We stayed in the Bodie Island room and loved it! There was plenty of storage space and seating. The outside breakfast is to die for, you can tell it is food cooked with love. The outdoor dining is such a relaxing place to mingle with the other guests as well. The indoor eating area is cozy and the mini chandelier adds a touch of elegance. The view from the observation deck is breath taking, with every visit it never gets old. The pool is literally an oasis, wonderfully tended and plenty of places to relax. The beach, the pier and restaurants are just a quick 4-5 minute walk away which we love! Being this is my third visit we have now stayed in all the rooms and I will say they all are more then accomidating, clean and equipped with everything we need for weekend stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a nice bed and breakfast. The owners are friendly and the accommodations are comfortable. My ratings are based on my preferences when staying at the beach and our experiences relative to other b&bs.

Room: You couldn't see the ocean from our room and, because it's a house, we couldn't open the windows or doors. Also the room is dark and small and there is no place to sit. There is a common area but it is very small and there isn't any comfortable seating in the common room - just a oak table with chairs.

Service: Breakfast was served at 8:30 - period. I want more flexibility when I am at the shore. The food was fine - tasty and well prepared - but no choices were offered, the servings were small, and no continential breakfast items were available to accommodate some who might want more food or something different. We stay at b&bs often and the breakfast at the relax inn was below our expectations based on our previous experiences.

Location: The location is okay. It's not ocean front. You need to cross the street and walk to the public beach access. It is walking distance to a convenience store and a few restaurants. We liked not having to drive to dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricTNagsHead, Owner at RelaxInn B&B, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Our first reaction to this somewhat negative review was to be defensive. Re reading the review made us wonder? Why would an experienced traveler book a facility that did not meet their location and or amenity requirements? We do not advertise being right on the beach, no B&B on the OBX/Nags Head is, we do not claim West facing rooms have an ocean view, and we certainly do not advertise or provide an all you can eat breakfast buffet/continental style.

We take great pride in providing an exceptionally run traditional Bed and Breakfast that actually serves home cooked meals. We do start breakfast at 8:30, coffee is out earlier, and most guests start seating between 8:30 and 9:00. We have never refused anyone breakfast. Each room has seating accompanied by generous outdoor deck seating, covered and uncovered, the breakfast area and the interior common area all available 7x24.

There are shades on the windows and doors that may be opened for light. During your stay the temperatures were in the nineties with high humidity and most guests prefer that the air-conditioners be on. On the OBX open windows and doors do not mix with air conditioning.

We strongly suggest checking a facilities location and amenities prior to booking. If this guest had called, and ask, we would have recommended they stay somewhere else. There are plenty of facilities on the ocean that offer all you can eat continental breakfast buffets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Relax Inn last year (2012) for our anniversary and had such a great time, we decided to return this summer!

Eric and Margie are great hosts with a lot of helpful knowledge of the area and are always willing to help you out if you have questions.

The location is great, a 5 minute walk to the beach and lots of dining options close by to choose from. Besides the well maintained grounds and pool, Relax Inn has everything you need to enjoy the beach on site: towels, chairs and beach umbrellas! They even have a set of bicycles if you want to go for a ride down the rode.

Breakfast was great, between the omelettes, muffin or occasional pancake, you were always full until time to eat lunch.

We'll definitely look to stay at the Relax Inn the next time we're in the Outer Banks.

Room Tip: We've stayed in both the Bodie Island room and the Birds of Paradise Suite. The later is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I spent three days and loved it. Eric and Margie were warm and gracious hosts. We enjoyed the pool, hot tub, easy access to the beach, the delicious breakfasts and nice room. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ridge, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for an extended weekend for a friends wedding and Eric and Margie were awesome hosts. We loved that the food was fresh and mostly from their garden and their recommendation for places to visit and restaurants to eat at. We both agreed, that if we were to travel without our kids again we'd go to RelaxInn. It's a perfect location to the beach and just enough away from the busiest parts of the Outer Banks to really relax. We also loved coming back to the B&B and jumping in the pool for the afternoon wine. It was such a great get away for us both.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in June 2013 and absolutely loved it! The location is perfect. It is walkable to restaurants and shops however, it not actually across from any. This makes it feel less touristy. The beach was so easy to access, literally it is across the street and down the boardwalk over the dunes, that we took advantage of this numerous times. We loved that they had beach chairs for us to use too! The grounds that they keep very beautiful-lots of plants and decorations, and areas to take advantage of like the pool, the numerous hammocks, the beach shower, the hot tub, the observation deck on the roof. Wonderful!! The Birds of Paradise Suite was incredibly comfortable too. The hosts were very welcoming and chatting with them and the other guests during the delicious breakfasts gave us good insight into the area. The name ‘RelaxInn’ suits this BB very well. When my husband and I woke up on the first morning we both commented and how distant a memory our workweek was. We can’t wait to get back to the Outer Banks and stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RelaxInn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RelaxInn B&B

Address: 8008 South Old Oregon Inlet Road, PO Box 1654, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave your stress behind and come to our oasis where history and natures beauty captivate your mind and spirit! Take a glass of wine to the top deck and enjoy the breath taking sunset or allow the serine breeze to play across your face. The sunrise is a treat to watch along with the waves breaking on the shore in the mornings???. Take a night time dip in our lighted pool, or relax in our bubbling, therapeautic hot tub. The RelaxInn is Ocean side on the beach road about seventy five yards from the beach. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RelaxInn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.