We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than we expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of RelaxInn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RelaxInn B&B
Save
You added RelaxInn B&B to your Saves list
8008 South Old Oregon Inlet Road, PO Box 1654, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Less than we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a nice bed and breakfast. The owners are friendly and the accommodations are comfortable. My ratings are based on my preferences when staying at the beach and our experiences relative to other b&bs.

Room: You couldn't see the ocean from our room and, because it's a house, we couldn't open the windows or doors. Also the room is dark and small and there is no place to sit. There is a common area but it is very small and there isn't any comfortable seating in the common room - just a oak table with chairs.

Service: Breakfast was served at 8:30 - period. I want more flexibility when I am at the shore. The food was fine - tasty and well prepared - but no choices were offered, the servings were small, and no continential breakfast items were available to accommodate some who might want more food or something different. We stay at b&bs often and the breakfast at the relax inn was below our expectations based on our previous experiences.

Location: The location is okay. It's not ocean front. You need to cross the street and walk to the public beach access. It is walking distance to a convenience store and a few restaurants. We liked not having to drive to dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricTNagsHead, Owner at RelaxInn B&B, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Our first reaction to this somewhat negative review was to be defensive. Re reading the review made us wonder? Why would an experienced traveler book a facility that did not meet their location and or amenity requirements? We do not advertise being right on the beach, no B&B on the OBX/Nags Head is, we do not claim West facing rooms have an ocean view, and we certainly do not advertise or provide an all you can eat breakfast buffet/continental style.

We take great pride in providing an exceptionally run traditional Bed and Breakfast that actually serves home cooked meals. We do start breakfast at 8:30, coffee is out earlier, and most guests start seating between 8:30 and 9:00. We have never refused anyone breakfast. Each room has seating accompanied by generous outdoor deck seating, covered and uncovered, the breakfast area and the interior common area all available 7x24.

There are shades on the windows and doors that may be opened for light. During your stay the temperatures were in the nineties with high humidity and most guests prefer that the air-conditioners be on. On the OBX open windows and doors do not mix with air conditioning.

We strongly suggest checking a facilities location and amenities prior to booking. If this guest had called, and ask, we would have recommended they stay somewhere else. There are plenty of facilities on the ocean that offer all you can eat continental breakfast buffets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
94
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Relax Inn last year (2012) for our anniversary and had such a great time, we decided to return this summer!

Eric and Margie are great hosts with a lot of helpful knowledge of the area and are always willing to help you out if you have questions.

The location is great, a 5 minute walk to the beach and lots of dining options close by to choose from. Besides the well maintained grounds and pool, Relax Inn has everything you need to enjoy the beach on site: towels, chairs and beach umbrellas! They even have a set of bicycles if you want to go for a ride down the rode.

Breakfast was great, between the omelettes, muffin or occasional pancake, you were always full until time to eat lunch.

We'll definitely look to stay at the Relax Inn the next time we're in the Outer Banks.

Room Tip: We've stayed in both the Bodie Island room and the Birds of Paradise Suite. The later is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I spent three days and loved it. Eric and Margie were warm and gracious hosts. We enjoyed the pool, hot tub, easy access to the beach, the delicious breakfasts and nice room. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ridge, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for an extended weekend for a friends wedding and Eric and Margie were awesome hosts. We loved that the food was fresh and mostly from their garden and their recommendation for places to visit and restaurants to eat at. We both agreed, that if we were to travel without our kids again we'd go to RelaxInn. It's a perfect location to the beach and just enough away from the busiest parts of the Outer Banks to really relax. We also loved coming back to the B&B and jumping in the pool for the afternoon wine. It was such a great get away for us both.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in June 2013 and absolutely loved it! The location is perfect. It is walkable to restaurants and shops however, it not actually across from any. This makes it feel less touristy. The beach was so easy to access, literally it is across the street and down the boardwalk over the dunes, that we took advantage of this numerous times. We loved that they had beach chairs for us to use too! The grounds that they keep very beautiful-lots of plants and decorations, and areas to take advantage of like the pool, the numerous hammocks, the beach shower, the hot tub, the observation deck on the roof. Wonderful!! The Birds of Paradise Suite was incredibly comfortable too. The hosts were very welcoming and chatting with them and the other guests during the delicious breakfasts gave us good insight into the area. The name ‘RelaxInn’ suits this BB very well. When my husband and I woke up on the first morning we both commented and how distant a memory our workweek was. We can’t wait to get back to the Outer Banks and stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights over the 4th of July weekend. We stayed in the Bodie Lighthouse room, which has a king bed, an outdoor entrance, a bath tub, a TV, DVD player, fridge and more. We LOVED our stay. The owners do such a great job with the little touches, such as the SUPER soft bathrobes in the room to use, the wine glasses and ice buckets in the room, the homemade sit down breakfast, the 4pm happy hour (which we drove back for every day), always asking us if we need anything, etc. And, the place is so calm and peaceful. There are only three rooms, so only three couples staying at a time. The pool and jacuzzi tubs are open to use and are so nice. The owners have DVDs, books and games in the shared living room that you can use. Also, the location is GREAT. Short walk to the beach, restaurants, and the pier. Short drives to the movie theater, Wright Brothers Memorial, mini golf, the lighthouse, and more beaches and towns. Really just a great place to stay. We are looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Friends, some of whom we rarely see but truly love, were staying for a week at a cottage. We had been invited to join them but discovered the cottage was too small to accommodate everyone. So within about two weeks of arrival, we called the Relaxinn to see if they could take us for four days. Eric looked at his schedule and figured out how to accommodate our needs. We were relieved to have a place to stay but really delighted when we were greeted and shown around.

The Relaxinn is very comfortable and well-appointed. Our bed had plenty of pillows and was truly comfortable. We slept extremely well. With the "Birds of Paradise" room, we had a sitting room too. The bath is large and even has a bar in the tub for hanging wet clothing. There are also hooks outside of each room for wet towels and clothing/beachwear. The accoutrements are well thought out and make coming back from the beach easy. There was a small frig in the room, drinking glasses, and an ice bucket. Eric and Margie have gone to a lot of trouble to ensure that the guests' surroundings are attractive as well as functional.

Wine and snacks are served at about four in the afternoon but Eric waits to know you have returned fro your outing so it does not just sit if you come in from your day later. The herbed hummus was wonderful. Eric and Margie even ask what kind of wine you like best and try to accommodate likes and dislikes. Breakfast was lovely. Not only was the food good, the other guests, plus Eric and Margie made for excellent company. We laughed through breakfast every morning. Our hosts were also careful. An allergy was discovered at the last minute and a new breakfast was prepared for the guest who suffered from the allergy. Coffee and tea are available at all times in the common area.

There is a nice hot tub and a beautiful pool. The pool area includes comfortable seating, sun protective umbrellas, and flowering plants. The Relaxinn is a great place, especially if you do not have a whole week for the beach, good food, good company, comfortable accommodation. We had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RelaxInn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RelaxInn B&B

Address: 8008 South Old Oregon Inlet Road, PO Box 1654, Nags Head, NC 27959
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave your stress behind and come to our oasis where history and natures beauty captivate your mind and spirit! Take a glass of wine to the top deck and enjoy the breath taking sunset or allow the serine breeze to play across your face. The sunrise is a treat to watch along with the waves breaking on the shore in the mornings???. Take a night time dip in our lighted pool, or relax in our bubbling, therapeautic hot tub. The RelaxInn is Ocean side on the beach road about seventy five yards from the beach. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RelaxInn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.