We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RelaxInn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RelaxInn B&B
Save Saved
You added RelaxInn B&B to your Saves list
8008 South Old Oregon Inlet Road, PO Box 1654, Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Couples Massage
Ranked #2 of 6 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Glen Ridge, NJ
1 review
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for an extended weekend for a friends wedding and Eric and Margie were awesome hosts. We loved that the food was fresh and mostly from their garden and their recommendation for places to visit and restaurants to eat at. We both agreed, that if we were to travel without our kids again we'd go to RelaxInn. It's a perfect location to the beach and just enough away from the busiest parts of the Outer Banks to really relax. We also loved coming back to the B&B and jumping in the pool for the afternoon wine. It was such a great get away for us both.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
92
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in June 2013 and absolutely loved it! The location is perfect. It is walkable to restaurants and shops however, it not actually across from any. This makes it feel less touristy. The beach was so easy to access, literally it is across the street and down the boardwalk over the dunes, that we took advantage of this numerous times. We loved that they had beach chairs for us to use too! The grounds that they keep very beautiful-lots of plants and decorations, and areas to take advantage of like the pool, the numerous hammocks, the beach shower, the hot tub, the observation deck on the roof. Wonderful!! The Birds of Paradise Suite was incredibly comfortable too. The hosts were very welcoming and chatting with them and the other guests during the delicious breakfasts gave us good insight into the area. The name ‘RelaxInn’ suits this BB very well. When my husband and I woke up on the first morning we both commented and how distant a memory our workweek was. We can’t wait to get back to the Outer Banks and stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights over the 4th of July weekend. We stayed in the Bodie Lighthouse room, which has a king bed, an outdoor entrance, a bath tub, a TV, DVD player, fridge and more. We LOVED our stay. The owners do such a great job with the little touches, such as the SUPER soft bathrobes in the room to use, the wine glasses and ice buckets in the room, the homemade sit down breakfast, the 4pm happy hour (which we drove back for every day), always asking us if we need anything, etc. And, the place is so calm and peaceful. There are only three rooms, so only three couples staying at a time. The pool and jacuzzi tubs are open to use and are so nice. The owners have DVDs, books and games in the shared living room that you can use. Also, the location is GREAT. Short walk to the beach, restaurants, and the pier. Short drives to the movie theater, Wright Brothers Memorial, mini golf, the lighthouse, and more beaches and towns. Really just a great place to stay. We are looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Friends, some of whom we rarely see but truly love, were staying for a week at a cottage. We had been invited to join them but discovered the cottage was too small to accommodate everyone. So within about two weeks of arrival, we called the Relaxinn to see if they could take us for four days. Eric looked at his schedule and figured out how to accommodate our needs. We were relieved to have a place to stay but really delighted when we were greeted and shown around.

The Relaxinn is very comfortable and well-appointed. Our bed had plenty of pillows and was truly comfortable. We slept extremely well. With the "Birds of Paradise" room, we had a sitting room too. The bath is large and even has a bar in the tub for hanging wet clothing. There are also hooks outside of each room for wet towels and clothing/beachwear. The accoutrements are well thought out and make coming back from the beach easy. There was a small frig in the room, drinking glasses, and an ice bucket. Eric and Margie have gone to a lot of trouble to ensure that the guests' surroundings are attractive as well as functional.

Wine and snacks are served at about four in the afternoon but Eric waits to know you have returned fro your outing so it does not just sit if you come in from your day later. The herbed hummus was wonderful. Eric and Margie even ask what kind of wine you like best and try to accommodate likes and dislikes. Breakfast was lovely. Not only was the food good, the other guests, plus Eric and Margie made for excellent company. We laughed through breakfast every morning. Our hosts were also careful. An allergy was discovered at the last minute and a new breakfast was prepared for the guest who suffered from the allergy. Coffee and tea are available at all times in the common area.

There is a nice hot tub and a beautiful pool. The pool area includes comfortable seating, sun protective umbrellas, and flowering plants. The Relaxinn is a great place, especially if you do not have a whole week for the beach, good food, good company, comfortable accommodation. We had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champaign,illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights. The owners were cordial and our room The Birds of Paradise Suite was clean. After that it was all downhill. Our suite consisted of two rooms. The first room had a king sized bed with a dresser and a small refrigerator that sat on top of some sort of stand. and a television that set on the dresser. The furniture and the carpet had seen better days and nothing matched. The pictures of the birds in the room were gaudy.There were no chairs in this room and there was barely room to walk thru the room. If you wanted to watch television you had to sit on the bed. The room was claustrophobic with only one small window in the corner of the room near the head of the bed. The only thing this window did even though it was closed, was to let the sound of the traffic keep you up during the night. The room was so small we had no place to put our suitcases. The temperature was controlled by the owners. The other tiny room next to our room had a small one seat sofa type chair that pulled out into an undersized twin bed. There were two old straight back chairs from some ones old dining room set that were in the room. We put our suitcases on them as you certainly couldn't sit on them to relax. The owners live directly above our room and we could hear them until they went to bed. And you could hear them again early in the morning,not so relaxing. There was a common area outside of the three rentals that had some coffee. The door in our room was paper thin and you could hear anyone that might use this area. Their advertising brochure is very misleading. The pictures of our room are 5 years old and it looks nothing like what we rented. We rented this unit for four nights but we had an emergency come up at home, so we left one night early. I told the owner the second day we were there that we had a problem and he said we would lose our rent if he didn't rent it. We lost the one night rent and I want the readers to understand this so this review does not appear to be sour grapes.. We stayed at two other Bed and Breakfasts on our trip that each got 5 stars from us. If you care to check-one is the Beaufort House in Ashville, N.C. and the other is The Big Mill B@B in Williamston ,S.C. The unit we stayed in at the Relaxinn was way overpriced for what was offered and certainly was not very relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricTNagsHead, Owner at RelaxInn B&B, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We told our guest prior to making the reservation that the Birds of Paradise had one king size bed and that the other room had a pullout twin and was for the once in occasion single parent guest with a son or daughter. We were told that an adult daughter did not mind a pull out bed. I then suggested you go somewhere else and recommended another B&B that had larger rooms. You called back and insisted on staying with us because of our reviews? We made the reservation and did not charge a third person charge. As far as leaving early? We were told that a kitchen re-model was not on schedule and we did not deem that as an emergency. Our policy statement clearly states our refund position. We received several requests for a refund and were even accused of not re-opening the room for rental. Our guest is correct it is not the grapes that are sour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Eric and Margie are natural hosts who understand the difference between being warm and cordial versus trying too hard. My fianceé and I felt perfectly at home and had all the privacy we could want. RelaxInn is the perfect name for this excellent (and rare) B&B on the Outer Banks.

Room Tip: I would choose one of the upper level rooms on the Sound side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just left the RelaxInn this morning and we miss it already! What a great stay we had. The entire inn is so clean and the owners are super nice and full of helpful information. The inn is one block from the beach, easy walking distance. They serve a delicious breakfast each morning. We felt very welcome and would love another visit soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricTNagsHead, Owner at RelaxInn B&B, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Well, we very much enjoyed your visit as well. Great reviews are always a welcome surprise for us. We do not have blocks here so we usually put things like that in yards. Relaxinn is about seventy yards from the beach and there is an aerial photo on the " About Us" page of our web site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RelaxInn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RelaxInn B&B

Address: 8008 South Old Oregon Inlet Road, PO Box 1654, Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave your stress behind and come to our oasis where history and natures beauty captivate your mind and spirit! Take a glass of wine to the top deck and enjoy the breath taking sunset or allow the serine breeze to play across your face. The sunrise is a treat to watch along with the waves breaking on the shore in the mornings???. Take a night time dip in our lighted pool, or relax in our bubbling, therapeautic hot tub. The RelaxInn is Ocean side on the beach road about seventy five yards from the beach. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RelaxInn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.