We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn South Oceanfront to your Saves list
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8031 Old Oregon Inlet Rd., Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at this Comfort Inn for the first time July 29, 2014. The staff are all very pleasant and helpful, the room was clean and very comfortable and the view from the balcony was great. The beach at this hotel was great and the hotel is well positioned for traveling south to Hatteras Island or going north to the upper part of the Outer Banks. We normally stay in a house when we visit this area but we decided to take a spur of the moment trip to the Outer Banks and this hotel fulfilled and exceeded our expectations. We had a little trouble with the wi-fi connection while we were there but it did not interfere with our trip at all. We will return to this hotel in the future!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor in a King room and it was a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    82
    48
    46
    54
See reviews for
99
123
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mayfield Heights, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

we recently stayed here for a family vacation to the beach. we had 6 rooms and the location, hotel and staff were great. Shannon was very helpful in getting the trip booked and we would definitely return!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia,Pa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We didn't have reservations and were lucky to get a room when we stopped in. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. We had an ocean view room. Loved the private balcony. They need to do general some maintenance throughout the hotel. The windows all need to be cleaned. I understand the outside will get dirty but the inside could be cleaned much more often. The deck was nice but the wooden furniture needs to be replaced with something that can stand up to the sea air. The metal nails were rusted and the arms on some of them were no longer attached. Breakfast was ok. It's the typical microwaved food most hotels offer. I expected more for the money we paid. The view was great but not worth $370 per night. Maybe if the hotel was in better shape I wouldn't have minded the money.

Room Tip: Bring beach towels for the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurertown, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

For those guests who don't plan on spending much time inside, the average quality of the motel is not really an issue. The beach and Nags Head beckon.

Our next-door neighbor evidently didn't feel the pull of the beach. He put the do-not-disturb sign on his door and cranked up the TV, which stayed on for most of two days and nights. I complained twice to the front desk about the noise. In the end, the manager had to go up and see to the problem. Yet, as we departed our room for the last time, the TV next door was still on.

Everyone we encountered behind the front desk was pleasant and helpful during our stay ... with the exception of the young woman who checked us in. The check-in can set the tone for one's entire stay in any motel, and Annie did not set a happy tone. She did not smile or welcome us with even a hint of sincerity. As she checked our reservation, I happened to mention cheerfully that her colleague (Pixie) had assigned us a nice room on the 6th floor when we called a few days before. Annie replied curtly that it was not motel policy to guarantee rooms ahead of arrival. "Well... is that room available?" I asked hopefully. "The room I'm assigning you is available," she said coldly. She repeated motel policy and seemed to imply that, because no one who answered the phone would ever violate motel policy, I must be making up the whole phone call up. Not a nice way to begin.

One of the blessings of our room was the balcony. It was great to sit on the balcony and take in the marvelous sights and sounds of the ocean. However, the lock on the doorknob was not easy to lock and the chain lock mount was coming away from the wall.

The breakfast buffet was plentiful in a bright room looking out on to the beach. The tables needed wiping down both days we were there, but the staff did so when asked.

The bathroom was adequate. The faux marble design on the shower walls, though, gave the appearance of grime.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Nags Head. The Comfort Inn provided us the means to do that. I would recommend the place conditionally.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irl
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Had overnight stay here in July - lovely hotel with super views of the ocean and sound. Arrived 2 days after hurricane Arthurs visit and gathered things had been a bit crazy in the hotel. Nice size room but there was no breakfast facilities.

Room Tip: i believe all rooms are good as there are either vies of ocean or sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is smelly, elevators smell, doors stick, room smelled, carpet was damp, bathroom was beyond ratty. The tub was peeling and mold in the corners......I've never seen that!!!! For the past 25 years we have always stayed at Holiday Inns. The last year they had issues with their credit card security. We decided to make a change to Comfort Inn/Choice Hotels. We have never stayed in such a place like this with the other chain. The reviews on your website were mixed, but if I had not driven 9 hours and had any other option - we would have left immediately. I tried to give the reviews the benefit of the doubt. OH.....the bad reviews are dead on target!!!!! This visit cost me $300.00 and it was so disgusting,, we are leaving this chain of hotel to try another one. I refuse to spend this amount of money for a worn out, smelly, tattered dump. We leave our dog at a boarding kennel when we travel. It is nicer and smells better than this hotel! I will put this review on every site I can find. Not only will you lose more customers, but they will know the truth!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! To add to this horrible experience, I disputed with my credit card. They told Visa that they told me they had room damage and the hurricane had just been through. NO that was a lie! ALSO.....why would they rent me a room that was in that condition. The hurricane doesn't explain the ratty peeling moldy tub! RUN AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni S, General Manager at Comfort Inn South Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments. We appreciate your feedback, as our guests feedback only helps us to serve you better. I apologize for the issues you had while staying with us. We are in the process of updating our tubs and shower surrounds and have recently replaced all furniture in the rooms, new vanities in the bathrooms and painted the exterior as well as interior of the hotel. I am unsure if you made any of the staff aware of the dampness in your room. We would have been able to move you to a different room. We did incur some damage due to the hurricane we had just before your stay and certainly would have offered to move you to another room, or assisted you with finding other accommodations, had that been your preference. We never want our guests to be uncomfortable while staying with us. I hope you will reconsider staying with Comfort Inn so we can ensure your next stay will be a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel was quiet and nicely located right on the ocean with balconies overlooking the water. The view from our ocean front balcony was amazing. I loved sleeping with the sound of the crashing waves. The physical property is dated. However, the rooms are very clean and this location is perfect with easy access to both beach and roads. The staff was very efficient and friendly. Beautiful Sunrise!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn South Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Address: 8031 Old Oregon Inlet Rd., Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn South Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Comfort Inn Nags Head Nc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn South Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.