We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no security cameras in parking lot. watchout for crime!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn South Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8031 Old Oregon Inlet Rd., Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“no security cameras in parking lot. watchout for crime!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My new truck was legally parked at the motel. Around 8:30-9AM it was struck in the rear by someone there and they left. Police called. Not a single person working at the motel would admit to seeing anything or would even come speak to me about it. The manager didn't care. The motel itself isn't bad. But the lack of security cameras and the lack of anyone at the hotel coming outside while police were there was very telling. There were employees or contractors working outside when this happened. No one offered any information or help.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni S, General Manager at Comfort Inn South Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments to Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and will certainly make our best effort to avoid such problems in the future. I apologize I did not get the chance to speak with you in regards to what happened with your vehicle. I was unaware of the incident until later. The Outer Banks is certainly a low crime area, we rarely have issues with crime here. I have taken your comments seriously and am in the process of working with our webcam company to procure evidence if this happens again, as we do have cameras on the roof and on the side of the building. If I can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact me. You can reach me by phone at 252-441-6315 or email at jenni.sawyer@hotelsobx.com.

Thank you.

Jenni Sawyer
General Manager
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    74
    47
    44
    52
See reviews for
90
114
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ruther Glen, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Great view, awesome staff. Convenient location, close to the pier and very clean rooms. I would stay here again and again! The breakfast tasted great. The pool was nice and clean. You have views of both the sound and the ocean and you can even catch sight of the Bodie lighthouse!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

First of all- This hotel is extremely dated. The shower alone is awful! We travel all through the US and Central America and this is by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. After about 20 minutes at the hotel, we decided to go to the front desk and request to be moved from our room. This request was because of at least 4 other rooms with barking dogs on our floor and because our 'non-smoking' room smelled like cigarettes and even had cigarette butts stuck in the ac unit in the room... Because of the quick move, we accidentally forgot our clothes that were hung in the closet until the next day when we went to wear them. Immediately I contacted the front desk (who has been as helpful as possible in the matter) to let her know of the problem and with hopes that the cleaning staff/ someone turned in our clothes. No one turned in our clothes and they are gone--- Thankfully it was only 2 or 3 of my husbands and 2 or 3 of my shirts. Either way, It is about $200+ of clothes plus the $250+ per night to stay in this dump! We usually stay in Pirates Cove which is 1,000times better. We will NEVER stay here again and hope anyone that can afford to stay somewhere else (which we can, but figured the accommodations here would be decent based on their room rate and it was one of the closest options to Oregon Inlet where we were fishing out of). Horrible mistake on our part and we will not make it again!

Room Tip: Just choose another hotel- This place is awful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni S, General Manager at Comfort Inn South Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments to Choice Hotels International. While we sincerely regret the troubles you experienced during your stay with us, any feedback from our guests only helps us to serve you better. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and will certainly make our best effort to avoid such problems in the future. I personally went up and checked the room in regards to your belongings as well as the cigarette butts in the A/C unit. Unfortunately, I was unable to locate your items and also could not locate any cigarette butts. I can tell you that our Executive Housekeeper, whom has been employed here for 20 years as of 2013, personally cleaned that room after your move and she did not see any items left in the room, it is possible she overlooked them. Upon your moving rooms, we did check someone else in to that room, we are unable to be sure whether they found the belongings or not. If you would get in touch with me and give me a more detailed description of the shirts, we will certainly keep our eyes open for them. As of right now, we only know it was 4 - 6 shirts, half of them womens and half mens. If we do find your belongings, we will be more than happy to send them to you, free of charge. Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you.

Jenni Sawyer
General Manager
(252) 441-6315
jenni.sawyer@hotelsobx.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have stayed here multiple times and they have always been extremely friendly, very clean and accommodating. They even got us settled in when we arrived two hours early. The staff is not only friendly to the guests but they speak respectfully to each other which adds to a relaxing environment. There is always a good selection of foods for the continental breakfast and you can enjoy your breakfast out on the deck. Jeanette's pier is a short walk down the beach and offers other fun things to do and Sam and Omie's restaurant is walking distance from the hotel. I'd say the hotel is very nicely located. The view of the ocean is amazing!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The view from our room, and hallway windows were beautiful. The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. We even received a phone call from Jennifer at the front desk soon after we checked in to see if everything was okay and if we needed anything.
Pixie and Paulina took care of the free hot breakfast. They did a great job. Made sure we didn't run out of anything. They were very friendly also. Annie at the front desk helped me check out. She was very sweet and friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Lure, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Vary late arriving (2am), the person at front desk upgraded our room. We were quoted a lower price then charged, which Katrina, the manager corrected. Very good value for a pet friendly hotel. We would stay here anytime. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This motel was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the location was right on the ocean.
My ocean front room gave a view of the sunrise from the room. Breakfast is as good as it gets and breakfast staff will accommodate your every need.

Room Tip: Recommend ocean front to see sunrise and view ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn South Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Address: 8031 Old Oregon Inlet Rd., Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South Oceanfront 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn South Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Comfort Inn Nags Head Nc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn South Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.