We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn South Oceanfront to your Saves list
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8031 Old Oregon Inlet Rd., Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Smithfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have stayed here multiple times and they have always been extremely friendly, very clean and accommodating. They even got us settled in when we arrived two hours early. The staff is not only friendly to the guests but they speak respectfully to each other which adds to a relaxing environment. There is always a good selection of foods for the continental breakfast and you can enjoy your breakfast out on the deck. Jeanette's pier is a short walk down the beach and offers other fun things to do and Sam and Omie's restaurant is walking distance from the hotel. I'd say the hotel is very nicely located. The view of the ocean is amazing!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    80
    48
    46
    54
See reviews for
98
120
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The view from our room, and hallway windows were beautiful. The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. We even received a phone call from Jennifer at the front desk soon after we checked in to see if everything was okay and if we needed anything.
Pixie and Paulina took care of the free hot breakfast. They did a great job. Made sure we didn't run out of anything. They were very friendly also. Annie at the front desk helped me check out. She was very sweet and friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Lure, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Vary late arriving (2am), the person at front desk upgraded our room. We were quoted a lower price then charged, which Katrina, the manager corrected. Very good value for a pet friendly hotel. We would stay here anytime. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This motel was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the location was right on the ocean.
My ocean front room gave a view of the sunrise from the room. Breakfast is as good as it gets and breakfast staff will accommodate your every need.

Room Tip: Recommend ocean front to see sunrise and view ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaston, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We made a last minute trip to OBX on Memorial Day weekend. Call us crazy, but I happened to get out of work so I drove down. With no reservations Comfort Inn welcomed us very promptly and everyone was extremely friendly. A lot of hotels make young guest feel uncomfortable but they treated us with great respect and were very helpful. The hotel is further south than I normally stay so I was a little reluctant but I actually really liked the location! Right at the Pier and the beach front wasn't crowed on a busy weekend which made me very happy! Wouldn't mind spending another weekend there. Highly recommended for an affordable, quick beach trip.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel was a pleasant surprise for us. We had a beautiful view of the beach and a deck that we could sit outside and listen to the waves crash morning and night. It didn't think the hotel was that close to the beach, but it was. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. When we visit the Outer Banks again, we will definitely stay at here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Do not stay here! Our oceanfront room smelled of urine. The front door would not close without a major force. The balcony was covered in peeling paint and had a door covered in rust. There was a large gap between the balcony door and the floor which bugs could crawl through. The bathroom was old. The pool is the size of a postage stamp with 4 to 5 dingy chairs around it. Very dated property with dark hallways. Our room was unsafe and unsanitary. We checked out and did not spend the night and found a much better hotel in Kitty Hawk. Do not be lured here by the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn South Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Address: 8031 Old Oregon Inlet Rd., Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn South Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Comfort Inn Nags Head Nc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn South Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.