We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to shabby but major face lift needed....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn South Oceanfront to your Saves list
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8031 Old Oregon Inlet Rd., Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not to shabby but major face lift needed....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I have to say that the ocean front view in the hotel is the one and only item I enjoyed in this hotel....we were there a week plus some and we had ac issues and other issues that sort of turned us off....I can say that when we contacted the front desk for items to be taken care of they were promptly tended to. It is a place to sleep after a long day at work but it needs a major face lift and for darn sure a scrubbing...also a thank you to the cute front desk girl Destiny (spelling?) to being very helpful to us in our time there. Over all not to shabby but not up to par.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    82
    48
    46
    54
See reviews for
99
123
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Hotel is a bit "tired", but the room was very clean, beds were comfortable, and everything was in good working condition. The view from our ocean front balcony was amazing. Annie at front desk was a joy - very efficient and friendly. Pixie kept the breakfast area clean and well-stocked. Every employee we encountered was friendly and welcoming. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

We couldn't find a better view with our room facing the crashing waves, but that's where the enjoyable part ended. We were overwhelmed with the smell of urine upon entering the room. The hotel was full so we couldn't move to another pet-friendly room, so we had to endure it for 48 hours. Everyone pays a significant pet fee, so there should be a carpet cleaner on speed dial if needed and if that won't do it, for crying out loud, replace the carpets. There was a lovely balcony, but there was a bottle cap, a used cigar butt and a clump of dog hair out there when we arrived--and it was never cleaned during our stay. The shower stall was rusted, paint cracked and peeling everywhere, and rooms were noisy. We're happy to have pet friendly rooms--but we shouldn't feel like we're staying in a kennel when we hear every dog in every room, continually. The front doors to the hotel open so slowly that you almost run into them even walking at a slow pace. The elevators are tiny and slow and the stairwells are dirty a heavily worn. There was a reasonable complimentary breakfast that was offered and the breakfast room was nice and at least that was roomy. Overall, the hotel was fabulously situated, but dilapidated in almost every way possible. We won't return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Upon arrival on Sunday May 18,2014 at 2:00 people were checking out right on up to 3:00. A conference so I quess that gives them the right to hold up the rooms. Check in time at 4:00. As we had a dog and I wasn't feeling well let them know would like a room asap. Was assured she would check and let housekeeping know. Didn't happen so had the pleasure of watching all these rude people checking out late. NOT. After in he room it smelled like wet stinky dog. My dog smells human. The bathroom sink looked bad the beds were awlful. No sleep for sure. The breakfast by far was the worst I have ever had in a motel that cost what this one does. I have to eat gluten free foods and their off brand plain oatmeal made me throw up with the first spoon. No flavors to choose from. So Tried eggs sausage and were nasty.Ended up with a banana and water for breakfast, Very disappointed is all I can say. The help were nice which is a plus but alot of the guest were so rude. Some people love animals some don't so if you don't ask for a room not on pet floor. There are few hotels that allow ur pet and its because some selfish people don't care for pets. My dog is small well behaved and potty trained and cleaned up her mess outside when she is finished. All I can say is I am so disappointed with this vacation. Be glad when Thursday gets here so I can go home. If you come here for breakfast I suggest u go elsewhere

Room Tip: ocean front is the way to go. worth the extra expense and if not a pet lover tell them when you make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Spent the night, was in town for a wedding. Very worn hotel, balcony door did not lock, paint peeling most everywhere, bathroom worn and dated. Needs a bit of help, I had even upgraded room to a ocean front. Would look elsewhere the next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stumbled upon the Comfort Inn South Oceanfront while looking for alternatives to our annual Myrtle Beach vacation. We're so glad we chose this hotel and the OBX in general. Staff were friendly and helpful and on arrival we were able to pay for an upgrade to ocean view (highly recommended). The room was pleasant and functional with enough room for the two adults and one child in our party. We found our windows to be dirty on the outside but put that down to the sand & ocean spray and cleaned them ourselves.

The hotel was well-placed on the beach and that became one of the big attractions for us. Quiet and relatively secluded, with Jennette's Pier just a short walk away, this made a wonderful change to the crowded beaches and streets we're more used to at Myrtle.

Mornings were the highlight for us, boasting some of the best hotel breakfast we've had along with the option of either sitting in the dining area or out on the hotel deck overlooking the ocean. The breakfasts (buffet-style, with choices of such foods as omelettes, eggs, biscuits & gravy, fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, toast, cereal, yogurt, home-made waffles, juices, milk, tea, coffee, etc) and view alone almost made for a reason to return themselves, and we're looking forward to going back in future.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for an ocean front view, giving a better view and sunnier room. It a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a wonderful ocean front room. The windows were streaked so we called housekeeping and a friendly janitor arrived and left us with a sparkling view. The hotel had a full breakfast with plenty of hot coffee, and I sat on their deck overlooking the ocean on Sunday morning dolphin watching. The beach was accessible via a staircase from the deck. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. PS I was with Beatrice K who also noted the windows, so...it was the same room!

Room Tip: ask for ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn South Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Address: 8031 Old Oregon Inlet Rd., Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn South Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Comfort Inn Nags Head Nc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn South Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.