We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Natalie :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn South Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8031 Old Oregon Inlet Rd., Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
1 review
“Thank you Natalie :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Girls trip weekend- awesome front desk staff- upgraded to ocean front!! Very enjoyable experience :) hotel is undergoing new management team & renovations = 2014 is going to be a great season!! Plus while you are there call Captain Duke Charters at Oregon Inlet Fishing Center and your vacation will be a complete success :) OBX = sand, ocean, sun & fishing fun!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    74
    47
    44
    52
See reviews for
89
113
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was by far our best experience ever. Upon our arrival we were promptly greeted with a friendly smile and warm welcome. Our room was very clean. We even received a phone call to ensure everything was to our satisfaction. Fresh made coffee awaited us when we arrived too. The same lady checked us out that was there to check us in. She was so sweet. I could never have asked or expected such a wonderful experience. The most comfortable beds and pillows. Wonderful location and close to everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The staff was nice, the property was older but fine.

What wasn't fine was the staff's complete inability to handle a serious complaint. I fell leaving the hotel due to a slick/wet ramp right outside the door. I slid, hit my car and slid under it. I cried out several times for help, and no staff came. I pulled myself up, sustaining injuries to the right side of my body. I hurt so bad that I ended up staying in bed for a day. I called the front desk, and while the young lady apologized, she never asked if I needed help, or if there was anything she could do for me. The manager could have called at the very least to check on me, but that never happened. Worse yet, was that I advised her to do something to make the area safer. Nothing was ever done even 24 hours later. very disappointing and is a huge liability for the hotel.

I had my dogs and kids with me, so we knew we would be in a "pet room" what I didn't expect was the smoking all around the hotel and on my floor. I had to sign a form saying I wouldn't smoke (which is not a problem,) so it was disgusting to me to smell it.

The breakfast was average. Our bathroom was worn and had mold all around the shower and shower curtain.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni S, General Manager at Comfort Inn South Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Comfort Inn Oceanfront South. I apologize for any problems you had while staying with us. I also apologize for not contacting you as I was and am unaware of what happened. I have asked every employee I have on staff at this time and they too are unaware of anything like this occurring during your time staying with us. If you could please contact me so we can discuss this further, I would greatly appreciate it. You can reach me by phone at 252-441-6315 or via email at jenni.sawyer@hotelsobx.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you,

Jenni Sawyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RALEIGH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The staff at the Comfort Inn Nags Head are heads above the rest in making sure our stay was exactly what we wanted it to be. Everyone greets us and hopes we have a good day. The room was neat and clean - the bathroom well stocked and spotless. I absolutely love not having to cook my breakfast and the staff in the breakfast room are always attentive to breakfast bar and friendly to the guests ! We look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: the ocean view is magnificent and they allow our dog to enjoy the view as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The hotel staff here was absolutely amazing! Was upgraded to an ocean view at no extra charge and thanks to Natalie I am now a choice member. The coffee was always hot and fresh. At one time there was none and they happily made more. The breakfast was your typical hotel food but it was still good and the ladies worked hard to keep it all stocked and even let us stay after 9:30 so we could sit and visit. One of the staff members even took some young children out to share in feeding the birds from the left over cereal on the tray. As for the rooms. No complaints what so ever. We will definitely be back!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We are a couple on a budget and I'm always looking for a bargain so we can get away once in a while. The outer banks is our home away from home and we usually stay in a rented beach house or we stay at the Cavalier Motel but I got a great deal through Choicehotels.com for a king size ocean front room at this hotel. I've read some of the negative reviews and none of them were bad enough to make me go somewhere else. We booked 2 nights for Valentines day and it was sooooooo worth it!!! First I must say that the hotel is not 5 stars so keep that in mind. I don't know why people complain about such little things when they know that they are staying at a Comfort Inn, not some ritzy high class hotel. Any hotel on the ocean will have some weathering outside and inside. The sea salt eats away at EVERYTHING. The windows will sometimes be foggy from the salt spray, which someone was complaining about in another review. But cmon!!!! the hotel has super comfy beds, awesome fresh crisp linens that I actually didn't even change out for my own!! (I'm super grossed out by most hotel linens) The view was awesome, 5th floor and we had the room at the end of the hallway. We watched dolphins play in the surf, saw some beautiful sunrises, full moon and a million stars. Yes the hotel is angled, but ocean front is still ocean front!! the room was spacious and clean with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The free breakfast was ok.. it filled our bellies before we headed out each day. Bagels, cereal, muffins, stuff to make waffles, sausages, eggs, juice, coffee, yogurt.. just to name a few. The front desk staff was a pleasure and we had no problem checking in early at all. She checked to see if a room was available since it was about 1 or 2 in the afternoon and check-in isn't until 4 and since the room was ready, she checked us in. Even the cleaning staff is super friendly. We passed them in the hallway each morning and they always said hi with a smile. All in all we had a great stay and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The price and the location are major selling points, I was there slightly off-season so most of the guests were fishermen (not a bad sign). I was not the only person who decided to book an extra day or two after the first night's stay (although in my case that had a lot to do with Hatteras). The room was clean, quiet and secure (my must haves); very comfortable bed, free wi-fi. The breakfast buffet for a low-end chain hotel was impressive and well-maintained. The beach is terrific. Drawbacks: lack of outlets in the rooms. I had to plug the TV into the coffeemaker outlet in order to find one for my computer and phone charger (a sign of the age of the place). The beach side has balconies; the Sound side does not. I was on the Sound side and the sunsets from the 6th floor were spectacular --- what could be seen through the dirty windows. I'm assuming they will be clean by tourist season, but... One final point: while I was extending my stay and a fellow asked the desk clerk if he could hire someone to put his washing laundry in the dryer as he had to rush to an impromptu meeting. The desk clerk cheerfully said she was glad to do this if he'd leave change for the dryer which he did. Universally, I found the staff cheerful and helpful.

Room Tip: get a balcony above 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn South Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Address: 8031 Old Oregon Inlet Rd., Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South Oceanfront 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn South Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Comfort Inn Nags Head Nc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn South Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.