We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn South Oceanfront to your Saves list
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8031 Old Oregon Inlet Rd., Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Currituck, North Carolina
1 review
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel is in the perfect location on the beach close to attractions but still out of the way to be secluded. The staff at this establishment are always friendly and helpful, got a great tip on a place to eat that was outstanding and places to eat are hard to find sometimes in the winter. The room was exceptionally clean and most comfortable. I have stayed at this hotel many times and always make it my primary choice when visiting the outer banks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    90
    52
    47
    54
See reviews for
105
134
24
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The ocean view rooms are awesome! It was so nice to hear the ocean in my room. I would love to go back and spend more time especially when the weather is warmer. Breakfast was standard and the staff was amazing!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We recently had a great winter stay at the Comfort Inn. We decided to go to Nags Head for a few days to enjoy the winter weather at the beach. The staff was warm and friendly as before. The recommendations for eating were excellent. Our room overlooked the beach which allowed us to watch the waves and the different weather as it changed over the 3 days. This is a good time to enjoy the beach if you want to avoid the crowds.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with an Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Just after Christmas, I decided to take a last-minute beach vacation down in Nags Head. Just a getaway with my dog. There weren't many pet friendly hotels oceanfront to choose from - but this one fit the bill. Great rate, beautiful views, and great location just as you hit the Outer Banks from Manteo.
Once I arrived, I was treated with great courtesy - everyone was always helpful. Great free breakfast in the morning. The rooms were clean and, while not fancy, they are nice and homey. Had a fridge, microwave, perfect view, great pet facilities - everything I needed for an affordable, memorable mini-vacation. If you are looking for a pet-friendly, oceanfront hotel, Comfort Inn in Nags Head DEFINITELY has you covered. They are doing some remodeling (winter 2013), so I expect it will be even nicer and more welcoming.

Room Tip: Just get a room from 2nd floor on up oceanfront and you'll have a stellar view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our December visit to the Comfort Inn South Oceanfront, Nags Head was most enjoyable. We received a warm welcome beginning at the front desk and from all of the staff that we encountered. We found the staff here to be most accomodating and pleasant. We were placed in clean and comfortable ocean front room with a great view. The breakfast had a good variety, which we greatly appreciate since our grandson frequently can't find anthing he can eat at some hotels due to his severe milk allergy. We are looking forward to a return visit to this hotel.

Room Tip: Listening to the ocean waves from our ocean front room balcony was so relaxing.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was our fourth return trip to the Comfort Inn, Nags Head. Like our other stays, at this hotel, it was most enjoyable. We noticed, that every member of the staff we encountered, always had a warm and welcoming greeting. Our room was above and beyond our expectations and the prices are very family friendly. The breakfast items are delicious and the always ready coffee, in the front lobby, is there for your enjoyment. Our return stay at the Comfort Inn, Nags Head, was "another great stay."

Room Tip: Odd numbered room face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn South Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Address: 8031 Old Oregon Inlet Rd., Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn South Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Comfort Inn Nags Head Nc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn South Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.