We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn South Oceanfront to your Saves list
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8031 Old Oregon Inlet Rd., Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Arlington, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“You can do better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The view from our balcony was it's main saving grace. While the front desk staff are great, the breakfast buffet is terrible. The selection and quality was poor and they ran out of a lot of stuff. The phone in our room was broken, and a promised staffer to repair a message light that wouldn't go out never materialized. This is an older property, and the lack of maintenance and care shows. There's no other high rise around this section of the beach, but other parts are just as nice and have better alternatives.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni S, General Manager at Comfort Inn South Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I know other readers take cues from guests like you. I apologize you had a less than pleasant experience while visiting our hotel in Nags Head, N.C. Please give us another chance. We would love the opportunity to dazzle you and show you what a great hotel we have.

Thank you,

Jenni Sawyer
General Manager
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    82
    48
    46
    54
See reviews for
99
123
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I am weary of hotels that have badly functioning air conditioning. If you don't mind being unable to cool your room at night adequately and you can overlook windows that haven't been cleaned in way too long this might be the place for you. It is run down. I tried to clean the salt off our window to find it was covered with mist from a careless spray painting operation. The view and location were great and the room was clean enough but I couldn't get enough hot water one morning. The beds seemed to be on the wrong wall and there was only about a foot between one of the and the door to the balcony. They should show some more care.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni S, General Manager at Comfort Inn South Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I apologize you had a less than pleasant experience while staying with us. We did recently have our exterior of the building painted, so I will check on the overspray you mentioned on the window. Thank you for letting us know so we may correct this issue. I am sorry you had to try and clean the window yourself, we are always happy to assist with any request to make our guests stay more comfortable. Unfortunately the windows are a constant battle with being located so close to the beach and the salt air that comes with it. Thank you again for your review and please consider giving us another chance. We would love the opportunity to accommodate your vacation needs and show you what a great hotel we have.

Thank you,
Jenni Sawyer
General Manager
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsail Island, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

After a recent stay at the Comfort Inn South, I discovered that I had left my flash drive. It holds all of my teaching resources and lessons and is invaluable to me. After a frantic two days I received a phone call letting me know that Rosie, had found it while cleaning the room and had turned it in. They were able to send it to me. So besides very comfortable accommodations, their honesty and customer service are to be applauded.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas Park, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We recently stayed here to attend a wedding being held at the hotel. The location was wonderful with a beautiful view from our oceanfront room! The balcony was very pleasant and I could have spent hours there. We did have some problems with the lock on our door(it wouldn't lock and could be pushed open) and the air conditioner malfunctioned our last night there. However, the staff showed sincere concern for our problems and immediately began trying to rectify them. I had the pleasure of meeting an employee named Natalie who was determined to make the "bad" part of our stay "right"!! She was not satisfied until she was convinced she had done enough to make us want to return to the hotel for a future stay. She was successful and we will certainly return!

Room Tip: Pay the small increase in rates for an oceanfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We requested an oceanfront room as "high up as possible" and were put on the 6th floor. The view was fantastic (just wish it hadn't been raining or gusting so badly, but that's not something the hotel can control!). Our balcony door was rattling regularly due to the high winds - but that was easily solved by closing the door with a towel in the crease.

Breakfast was surprisingly good - eggs, biscuits and gravy, and a meat (bacon one day, sausage the next), along with make-your-own waffle and the standard continental breakfast fare. Let's be clear - these eggs are the standard hotel eggs, reconstituted - but I think they're fine with a little salt and pepper. There was plenty of food and a lot of variety. It was a great start to the day.

Our second night, the next door room decided to leave their balcony door open, which was banging regularly due to that high wind. The guests didn't open their door when we tried to ask them to close it - so we called the front desk, and they took care of it straightaway! That was very appreciated.

I loved that view, and the breakfast was a fantastic bonus. We'll come back, definitely.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel with a really fabulous location. The ocean view rooms have a spectacular up-close vista of the ocean and the (cheaper) bay side rooms have a very nice, less dramatic view with the bonus of panoramic sunset scenes. It is very convenient to the highway over to Roanoke Island as well as the entry to the Cape Hatteras National Seashore. Our room was spacious, clean, and with everything we needed. Television reception was poor - though who needs it with a view like that. We like to go to Nags Head in October. The weather can be perfect and the crowds much diminished. There is a very nice spacious deck on the second level where you can have breakfast (provided) or sit in the evening and enjoy the view. Especially well planned is that the access to the beach is also on the second level, and thereby you avoid parading your beach gear through the lobby to get back to your room. Staff were especially nice.

Room Tip: We had a top floor corner room, ocean side, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from several days on the Outer Banks and our stay at the Comfort Inn. The people at check-in were friendly and full of tips. We had a room on the 7th floor facing the beach and the view was wonderful. We could have stayed on the balcony for hours just watched the beach and the people. The hotel is a little dated, but who cares when you have such a great location. The room was very clean. Beach access is easy from the deck of the hotel. The morning breakfast had plenty to choose and the staff kept it well supplied during a rush. The location make it easy to go south and enjoy the islands or north and enjoy all the people and activities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the beach side. You pay a little more but it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn South Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Address: 8031 Old Oregon Inlet Rd., Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn South Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Comfort Inn Nags Head Nc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn South Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.