We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, horrible hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn South Oceanfront to your Saves list
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8031 Old Oregon Inlet Rd., Nags Head, NC 27959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Nags Head
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, horrible hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

This hotel has an incredible location right on the beach in Nag's Head. We had friendly and helpful people at the front desk during check in and out. That is where the good part of the experience ended. It is badly in need of renovation and CLEANING! The draperies, rugs and bathroom were all dirty. The plaster on the walls is crumbling around the windows. The sheets were all wrinkled leaving me to wonder if someone had slept in them before us. The pillows were old and inadequate, ditto the mattresses.
The breakfast room was crowded and airless. The deck was beautiful, right on the ocean and we took our food out there, but the furniture was uncomfortable and scattered all over the place. What a mess!!
Way past the time to put some money into this place. We often stay in Comfort Inns and have never been this disappointed. Also, my #1 complaint-not being able to even crack open a window for a cool ocean breeze.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    82
    48
    46
    54
See reviews for
99
123
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Central VA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

Where do I start? There was just SO MANY things that were WRONG with this hotel.
1.) Odor on our floor - I tolerated this though because the hotel was right on the beach and there is a LOT of moisture in the air. . . .EVEN THOUGH I'm allergic to mold!!
2.) Paint peeling off the walls in the hallway AND in the room.
3.) Hardly any water pressure from the shower. My husband's comment was simply, "That shower SUCKS!!!!"
4.) Air conditioner barely cooled the room off. We had it on MAX and it wasn't even worth having it on. I woke up sweating. I was just grateful that our visit was in Sept. instead of MID-JULY or something. I don't know how people would have stood it then.
5.) Our double beds were TERRIBLE!! My husband commented about his SORE back every morning he woke up.

I wouldn't even have written this review if it weren't for this LAST situation - - - - -
6.) I woke up the last morning there to find a roach crawling on the oposing wall. I cringed but got up and started packing. MOMENTS later, I looked down on the bed I had JUST gotten up from and there was a roach crawling on my blanket (that I had brought from home). I screamed, shook him off, gathered my things, and went down to check out. I didn't even put my make-up on before I left the room.

I normally and VERY tolerant of things and don't normally complain BUT, the roaches got it for me. That was the LAST STRAW!!!!

My Uncle & Aunt stayed at the Beacon Motor Lodge. [--] They said that place was very clean & nice. . . and they are PICKY people. They said that it was an older hotel but CLEAN!!! I will most likely stay HERE if I ever return to Nags Head.

I wish I had taken pictures of all of these problems. . .I would have posted them.

  • Liked — The GORGEOUS views
  • Disliked — The ROACHES
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

We read a lot of the glowing spring reviews on here, and so the place sounded GREAT! Not so much. Pretty rundown and grungy. The bathrooms were really gross. The breakfast room was hot and muggy, with no air conditioning. We asked for a rollaway bed, and they brought us one with DIRTY SHEETS from someone else the night before.

What this place has going for it is LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. The view from our sixth floor room was killer, and beach access was quick and easy. It needs to be gutted and rebuilt on the inside, but really, the view and location made it all worthwhile. And frankly, many of the other area properties didn't look much better kept up.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

My mom and I stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of June. We had oceanfront room with balcony and view was nice. From there, it was downhill. Elevators were very slow, rooms and public areas were in desparate need of renovation (carpets were torn, buckling and dirty). Access to the beach was difficult via the path provided by the hotel. Most people went out the front door and walked through the parking lot rather than go through the hotel's path. Room sink backed up. Sand in the room from the first day was still there after cleaning the second day. Manager was rude when I complained, telling me to check out and stay somewhere else. When I made this reservation, I did not have access to a computer or Trip Advisor comments and based choice on AAA book. Never again. Room was definitely not worth the high price based on the cleanliness and attitude. Stay elsewhere in Nags Head!

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

We stayed there for the OBX Wedding Expo at the beginning of Jan 2007.

The view from the room was breathtaking as we had an oceanview, so we could take in the sounds and smells of the ocean.

Overall it was clean, but there was a lot of work going on so the hotel's pool was closed and there were a lot of places marked off for construction, some of it due to the hurricanes.

From what I remember the hotel itself was clean, the service and attitudes of the employees were great.

I would stay there again, pending it wasn't still under construction/renovations.

  • Liked — Location, view, price, service
  • Disliked — Under renovations at the time
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

Granted the location (right on the beach) is excellent, but this is one property that probably should be condemned. The place is literally falling apart! Forget the elevator...If it's prime season, you could spend your whole vacation waiting for it. Take the stairs, but be careful they don't crumble apart when you put your weight on them. The rooms are small and extremely outdated. The beds have the ever-popular crinkly mattress pad on them. Even the rooms on the top floor with the balconies are in very sorry shape! To top it all off, the service is awful. The breakfast lady began closing up a good 15 minutes before the announced time. I asked for a bagel since the line to get waffles was at least 20 minutes long. She told there weren't any more. When I pointed out an enormous unopened package of them behind the counter, she snootily replied, "Those are for tomorrow." I went to the desk to complain, but the line of people checking out/in was also at least 20 minutes long. I paid $260 a night for this trash heap. I hope others won't, but seeing as how the hotel was sold out for the next two weeks, I'm sure others will be duped as well!

  • Liked — The view.
  • Disliked — Everything but the view.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2007

We had GREAT views for the fireworks of Nags Head, Manteo, & the whole area.

BUT the windows leaked from a thunderstorm- and they didn't do anything but throw a towel down on the carpet. We had to move stuff so it didn't get wet plus listen to the water drip in. There was water in the stairwells. The guy we reported to was new & didn't really know what to do. It was our first night-they put us in oceanfront because the room we reserved was occupied. So they were nice to do this only it backfired.

THEN, I found cockroaches under the coffee pot on the refrigerator.

AND I found trash under the bed from someone else's stay.

AND it was COLD in the pool in July --I guess they can't control that without a heater. They need one.

  • Liked — view of July 4th fireworks
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn South Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Address: 8031 Old Oregon Inlet Rd., Nags Head, NC 27959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn South Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Comfort Inn Nags Head Nc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn South Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.