We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far, far better than that other waffle place down the street.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Waffle King

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Royal Waffle King
780 U.S. Highway 64 W, Murphy, NC 28906
(828) 837-3242
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 49 Restaurants in Murphy
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Far, far better than that other waffle place down the street.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

It was our first time at Waffle King as we were visiting the area. I really wish we had one in our town! I am NOT a fan of the other waffle place but after a day of tubing in Bryson City, we were super tired and didnt have dinner. I really didn't want McD's and it was 10pm so I looked up Waffle King reviews on here as we kept driving by it. The reviews were very promising so we decided to try it out. Didn't regret that at all. I had a really good burger and hubby was very impressed with the steak. The staff was very friendly and the waitress recommended we have the cook heat up our pecan pie. I forgot how she called it (she had a phrase for it) but they put butter on the pie and then put it on the grill. omg, it was amazing. The place is very clean and homey. Really recommend any time of day.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The smell of waffles when you walk in makes you want to just have it pumped into your home!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

When we walked in, we were promptly seated by a wonderfully friendly young lady (I didn't grab her name). She could tell we weren't from around there, so she started giving her personal favs and asking what types of things we liked so she could come up with something fantastic.

Waffles were so light and airy. They tasted like there was malt in them which added to that addictive sweet aroma!

The are very inexpensive, cooked everything just the way we asked, and were so friendly! We'll be back!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favorite Diner in Murphy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Open 24 hours a day this small town diner is full of charm. They still have daily specials and pie! You can eat breakfast anytime. Prices are reasonable and the waitresses are the friendliest in town!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great place for breakfast or other light meal. We ate at this location 5 times in 4 days given the reasonable price, good food and decent service. Similar to Waffle house but much better food and service

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“As you would expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Standard "waffle" fare: eggs, waffles, grits, hash browns. Service was very fast and very friendly. Not a lot of breakfast choices in town - it's the King or the "other" waffle place.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Waffle King also viewed

Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Royal Waffle King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Waffle King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.