We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Comfort, Conveniently Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Holiday Dr, Murphy, NC 28906   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Murphy
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Clean Comfort, Conveniently Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I drive from Arlington Virginia to Murphy North Carolina at least annually, for three primary reasons: (1) drive the Cherohala Skyway, (2) drive the Tail of the Dragon, and just to drive any local two-lane mountain roads. I choose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Murphy because it's conveniently located near the two main attractions. Two great restaurants are located in downtown Murphy, just a couple of miles away (Murphy's Chophouse & ShoeBooties Cafe). This hotel does not sport the most luxuriously-appointed accommodations and amenities among this chain, but it's comfortable, quiet, and the staff are great. I would prefer a firmer mattress, and many of the office desk chairs need replacement. (The chair in my room was stuck in a semi-reclined position. Housekeeping provided a much better replacement the next day. The bedroom is not separated from the "living room," and the closet is not fully enclosed. Free breakfast and wi-Fi are available, as is an pool indoor pool. A nice place to come home to after a day of riding through the Cherokee and Nantahala National Forests!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcdogfan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Ty C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoy visiting our beautiful area. I realize you have other lodging options and appreciate that you choose to stay with us. We are currently in the midst of a total renovation, perhaps we'll have it complete by your next visit (: We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you,
Patricia
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    24
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
14
16
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our stay was a great experience. The front desk lady gave us a list of places to eat and recommended a few. They were very helpful with directions to places that we wanted to visit. . Our room was very nice and clean and the free breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcdogfan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Bettye J,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review. I'm glad our staff was able to recommend some local hotspots to your liking. Thanks again for staying with us, we really appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon.

Patricia
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Added the HI Ex at Murphy to our string..........we stay at this chain 10 times or more each year. This particular one, while fairly new and evidently well maintained, was remarkable for the lack of customer service orientation demonstrated by the staff we encountered at the front desk. This began when we arrived at 2pm and were told that no rooms were prepared for check in that early.......OK, so we came back at 3 to a couple of semi-surly desk clerks. All in all the facility was fine, the customer service seemed grudgingly offered.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcdogfan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear dragonfishGA,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am sorry our staff wasn't able to meet your expectations. We are always looking for opportunities to improve upon our services so this is why your feedback is important to me. Thank you for choosing HIExpress Murphy, I hope you allow to serve you again in the future. We appreciate you.

Patricia
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended to us by a local business so we stayed here. After driving the day to get there we arrived and were greeted very nice by the staff. We left to go out to dinner and when we returned we were very tired. We booked a suite to have enough beds as my mother was staying with us. As we got ready for bed the bed wasn't just broken it should have been replaced. It was broken so bad my husband just about couldn't get it put back the way it was supposed to be. So in our pajamas and late into the evening we were once again having to pack up our belongings to be moved to another room. We were moved and it was fine for the most part the rest of the evening. I tried to get a manager to speak with me the next morning and they wouldn't do it. They sent the clerk out to say he was sorry but the manager wouldn't adjust our bill for our inconvenience! I was told they are going through renovations and that is why things are not quite right just yet! Not my problem as a paying guest in your hotel! Someone had to know that bed was broken and it should have been replaced long before we had to be inconvenienced! The breakfast was terrible and not enough to choose from! I won't go back and I would recommend that unless you just have to stay you find another hotel in the area!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Judi D,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. I am sorry you did not like the complimentary breakfast options we had available. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, comfortable beds, clean! Friendly folks especially Joan (she's there in the afternoon). Beautiful views and close to Nantahala. Indoor pool was clean. Nice workout room with washer/dryer if needed! Flat screen tv's, beautiful dining area should you have a group. Enjoyed my stay and would visit this establishment when in Murphy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last weekend as a jumping point for our motorcycle riding. Great location for us. We had a slight issue with the toilet not working but didn't change rooms until the next day because we got in so late and just wanted to go to bed. We were upgraded to a suite so it was appreciated. We enjoyed the breakfast - the automatic pancake maker was great! Hot eggs, sausage and biscuits both mornings we were there. Will stay here again on our next motorcycle trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were happy that we selected this small hotel. It is close to the main street area of Murphy. There are several restaurants nearby. The hotel has nice clean rooms, a fairly large selection for breakfast including pancakes, and an indoor pool. It was very quiet the night we stayed there. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy

Address: 130 Holiday Dr, Murphy, NC 28906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Murphy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Murphy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murphy offers fresh air and amazing scenery of the Blue Ridge Mountains while also bringing you to the heart of the whitewater rafting, hiking and biking capital of the mountain region!Conveniently located to area manufacturers and hospital, as well as three states and three beautiful lakes for fishing and boating. Cave dwellers and rock climbers love us as well! Our small town hospitality and convenience to local restaurants and attractions will keep you coming back again and again. After a long day of work or play, unwind in our indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Standards, suites, and Jacuzzi rooms available, all with refrigerator and microwave and high-speed wireless Internet. Two full non-smoking floors. Hotel features include complimentary Continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Murphy, NC and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy Hotel Murphy
Holiday Inn Murphy
Holiday Inn Express Murphy
Murphy Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.