We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No customer service here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Holiday Dr, Murphy, NC 28906   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Murphy
Eustis, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“No customer service here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended to us by a local business so we stayed here. After driving the day to get there we arrived and were greeted very nice by the staff. We left to go out to dinner and when we returned we were very tired. We booked a suite to have enough beds as my mother was staying with us. As we got ready for bed the bed wasn't just broken it should have been replaced. It was broken so bad my husband just about couldn't get it put back the way it was supposed to be. So in our pajamas and late into the evening we were once again having to pack up our belongings to be moved to another room. We were moved and it was fine for the most part the rest of the evening. I tried to get a manager to speak with me the next morning and they wouldn't do it. They sent the clerk out to say he was sorry but the manager wouldn't adjust our bill for our inconvenience! I was told they are going through renovations and that is why things are not quite right just yet! Not my problem as a paying guest in your hotel! Someone had to know that bed was broken and it should have been replaced long before we had to be inconvenienced! The breakfast was terrible and not enough to choose from! I won't go back and I would recommend that unless you just have to stay you find another hotel in the area!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Judi D,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. I am sorry you did not like the complimentary breakfast options we had available. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
15
17
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, comfortable beds, clean! Friendly folks especially Joan (she's there in the afternoon). Beautiful views and close to Nantahala. Indoor pool was clean. Nice workout room with washer/dryer if needed! Flat screen tv's, beautiful dining area should you have a group. Enjoyed my stay and would visit this establishment when in Murphy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last weekend as a jumping point for our motorcycle riding. Great location for us. We had a slight issue with the toilet not working but didn't change rooms until the next day because we got in so late and just wanted to go to bed. We were upgraded to a suite so it was appreciated. We enjoyed the breakfast - the automatic pancake maker was great! Hot eggs, sausage and biscuits both mornings we were there. Will stay here again on our next motorcycle trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were happy that we selected this small hotel. It is close to the main street area of Murphy. There are several restaurants nearby. The hotel has nice clean rooms, a fairly large selection for breakfast including pancakes, and an indoor pool. It was very quiet the night we stayed there. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Another stay in a HIE, and another fine night. The room was nice, with an excellent AC unit. The HD tv was great, with a bonus that it had a tv guide on screen. Room was clean and quiet (my two major requirements). It also had a microwave and fridge (bonus). No problems at check-in, the gentleman was cordial...although I was never thanked for my loyalty to HIE. He did a nice job of running down all of the hotel amenities and also offered to help with my baggage and with anything I needed. Nice all-around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Me and my wife had just got married and we were gifted 3 nights at this hotel for our honeymoon, we got to the hotel after our wedding to see a gloomy dark entry way surrounded by shirtless thugs smoking, as the smoke cloud cleared i was greeted by the rudest older lady I've ever encountered. I told her about my reservation and she says the card was declined after confirming over the phone it went through and the person who gifted it to us had it withdrawn from there account already.So after a long drawn out hassle and not in the mood to deal with a rude old lady, we decided to just find another hotel, we stayed at the hampton inn a little further down the road. very nice and clean rooms, great breakfast, friendly staff. i gave the corporate office of holiday inn a call they said the card went through but will be reimbursed due to us cancelling the rooms. The ladies name was Joann and supposedly a manager, the complaint form has been sent to the owner of the hotel and i hope they figure something out, either way i won't step foot into that place again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcdogfan, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Justin H,

I am sorry for any confusion concerning your reservation with our hotel. I am fully aware of the incident and think perhaps there was a miscommunication between the gentleman who was to pay for the room and you. First, your reservations were only for 1 night not 3, secondly, the credit card on file was declined after our clerk tried multiple times to authorize. I can assure you the credit card was not charged at all. I'm not quite sure who misinformed you otherwise. Our parking lot and porte-cochere are both adequately lit so I'm not sure where that comment came from. The clerk on duty has been with our company for 5 yrs and I know she would have accommodated you and your new bride if a valid form of payment had been provided.

Sincerely,
Patricia Richarme
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for several years while working in the area on business. Just in the past 6 months, I have seen a sad decline. There has always been parking issues due to the smaller lot with oftentimes 18 wheelers, RV buses and many trucks with trailers that take up anywhere from 3 - 8 parking spaces. In the past few months, there have been various construction crews staying in the hotel, many working on TVA projects. The hotel has became a loud party spot in the evenings. It was at one time a quiet family place, but no longer is it that. There are people grilling with the outside doors propped open, filling the hotel with lighter fluid fumes, people walking around with very foul language, and workers congregating in the hallways late at night either standing drinking and talking together or out of their rooms talking loudly on their cell phones. I even had one instance in which a construction worker tried to beat down my door because he could not realize his room was across the hall. I have nothing against construction workers, as my husband used to work construction and have several family members who do, but there is no reason for anyone, regardless of their job choice to make others in the hotel miserable. There is a reason they have always stayed in lower budget outside entrance rooms. Our company will definitely look at moving our employees to the Hampton Inn across town.

Room Tip: For a quiet stay, choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Leigh-Anna B,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy

Address: 130 Holiday Dr, Murphy, NC 28906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Murphy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Murphy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murphy offers fresh air and amazing scenery of the Blue Ridge Mountains while also bringing you to the heart of the whitewater rafting, hiking and biking capital of the mountain region!Conveniently located to area manufacturers and hospital, as well as three states and three beautiful lakes for fishing and boating. Cave dwellers and rock climbers love us as well! Our small town hospitality and convenience to local restaurants and attractions will keep you coming back again and again. After a long day of work or play, unwind in our indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Standards, suites, and Jacuzzi rooms available, all with refrigerator and microwave and high-speed wireless Internet. Two full non-smoking floors. Hotel features include complimentary Continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Murphy, NC and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy Hotel Murphy
Holiday Inn Murphy
Holiday Inn Express Murphy
Murphy Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.