We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WagonMaster Adventure Ranch

WagonMaster Adventure Ranch
359 Adventure Ranch Rd, Murphy, NC 28906
+1 828-494-9521
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Murphy
Type: Game/ Entertainment Centers, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WagonMaster is an affordable, PET FRIENDLY family fun park nestled on 72 acres in the Smoky Mountains of North Carolina. It's a laid-back, wholesome atmosphere where most of the outdoor activities are designed for the WHOLE family to enjoy together. It's like going back to a simpler time, with a rustic, western theme, but using some new & unique activities. There's mini golf, gem mining, gold panning, skeet shooting, wagon rides, and target galleries for paintball & air-soft BBs. No one gets shot at - you shoot at ghost town targets. "Just for kids" includes the bounce castle (with sprinkler on hot days), mini race track, and the free playground. There's NO ADMISSION FEE. There's shady picnic areas and an inspirational nature park. Camping, RV sites, and lodging are on site. It's a great place for families, groups, reunions, and couples looking for a secluded getaway in a beautiful mountain setting. Our gift shop is one of the biggest hits with so many unique, affordable items, people do their Christmas shopping there. We also do online and "to go" orders for our Salty Dog Gem Mine and Gold Panning. WagonMaster always brings out the smiles in you no matter what age you are!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Lagrange, NC,USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great family time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had two of our grandchildren and a 12 week old puppy with us on this trip. We had asked for a ok for the pup when we made our plans to visit the ranch. We stayed for 3 nights and had a great trip. We were unable to take the kids to dry falls because of work being done on walkway but we visited Fields in the Woods and also the road to nowhere. Both of these were lessons spiritually and historical. But the greastest family time was campfire talk , walking in the paths and oh yes my 69 year old husband loved the paintball and shooting the guns at objects. Cabin was just right for us with the kids in the loft. Very clean and everything one needs was right in place for the cooking and comfortable living for the few days we were there in may. The owners could not have been any more helpful in order for us to have a relaxing family time. the suttons

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie1166723, Owner at WagonMaster Adventure Ranch, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you SO much for taking the time to say such kind words about your stay here. We truly enjoyed meeting ya'll, and your grandchildren were SO well mannered. It's really nice to witness such positive family times. We hope you are all blessed with many more great memories together. Thank you again, Deb & Jim Rodby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent as a Destination or Hub for Regional Activities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

While on a fun and learning family RV tour with our 6 and 8 year olds, we stopped in to WagonMaster for a night just to get the lay of the land. We knew we were in an area filled with local color and several key activities, (river rafting tours on multiple local rivers, canopy (zip) tours, horseback riding, Cherokee IR, Smokies, etc.), but did not know where to start or where best to stay. We could not have been more fortunate. Deb and Jim have created a friendly homestyle camp which had first rate RV accommodations for our RV (we have a 40 foot diesel pusher), private cabins, a gathering place for family games or group cooking, night golf, gem mining (Deb loads the BEST gem bags I have seen FULL of goodies for the kids), BB gun range, paint ball, kids car track, wagon rides, hiking, etc. activity cabin and a wide range of excellent low cost activities. Rain or shine, whether we wanted to venture out or stay close, there was always something within easy reach for us during our stay at WagonMaster. Deb is more than happy to help you find any sort of fun you are looking for in the area and knows who the best operators and tour guides are. She voluntarily took the bull by the horns and called a dozen guide companies to see who could take our whole family on an age appropriate rafting tour. WOW! She knew the best place for a kid friendly horeseback riding tour. Very cool! Plug the kids into a "jumpie" activity complete with sprinklers and a monitor, or miniature golf, etc. while you relax and observe from the the front porch of the RV Activity Center (common area cabin) perched high on an overlooking hill. Rain or shine this is a great place to call home while in the Ocoee River basin. Needless to say, our quick drop in stay "to get the lay of the land turned into a multi night plan. Thanks for taking care of us guys!
One point - be sure to follow the map instructions on the WagonMaster website. We took a wrong GPS guided turn and ended up coming in 5 miles on a one lane dirt road in our RV! (but we made it without a scratch so all was well)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie1166723, Owner at WagonMaster Adventure Ranch, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
WOW! Thank you, Bart, for that wonderful review! We've always thought we had the best guests ever, and you just proved it once again! We loved your positive outlook and teamwork in all that you and Tiffany did... it's really nice to see happy couples enjoying life and family together. I'm so glad ya'll had a good time, and we hope the rest of your adventure is filled with great memories for you and the girls. Thanks again for taking the time to share such kind words! Safe travels and God Bless! Jim & Deb Rodby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida 32301
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun even for adults!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The cabins were wonderful and the campsite great! There was a deck with picnic table overlooking a nice wooded area and down to the drive. There was plenty of privacy and opportunity to visit with others too! The shower and bath facilities - I have never seen better! Thanks Debbi and Jim!!!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie1166723, Owner at WagonMaster Adventure Ranch, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thanks so much for that very kind review. You were our 1st RV guests and we have really enjoyed having you return to visit us again each time. With every visit, you can pick out different sights to check out in the area or just kick back and enjoy the scenery right here, and ya'll know how to enjoy every trip regardless of the weather. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feelings about your visit, and we love you guys!!! We look forward to your next visit whenever you plan on coming back this way. Debbie Rodby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Fun for All!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We have been out to Wagonmaster on many occasions. It is fun for a spectrum of ages and so affordable. We are from the Orlando area and most "parks" are expensive. So when our 7 yr. old grandaughter came up to NC, we took her to WM. She had a ball!!! The only little problem was that she wanted to go back again and again which time didn't provide. There is always next summer! Thanks for adding to her vacation!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie1166723, Owner at WagonMaster Adventure Ranch, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Just realized we had gone to visit grandchildren when this wonderful review was posted and did not write a response. So - better late than never, THANK you Sarah S for taking time out of a VERY busy schedule to share your kind words. We love seeing your Grandkids when you are all up here, and appreciate you so much. Sorry for the delay in officially responding, but I hope you know how much we love you guys! God Bless your beautiful family. Jim & Deb Rodby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, North Carolina
1 review
“Friendly owners make for a fun-filled time of putt-putt, wagon rides, and so much more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Wagonmaster Adventure Ranch is a breathe of fresh air in an surprisingly accessible and beautiful location. The owners are extremely helpful and friendly and do everything in their power to make for a fun-filled family time. Our church recently held an outdoor picnic at the ranch and couldn't have asked for a better experience. We grilled hot dogs, huddled by the campfire, and played lots and lots of games. Thanks so much for a memorable evening located in the mountains of North Carolina!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie1166723, Owner at WagonMaster Adventure Ranch, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Hi John. We really appreciate you taking the time and effort to write such a nice review. We really enjoyed the church group, and we hope you know you are welcome to come and enjoy the park anytime - even it's it's just to cookout, have a campfire, and play volleyball. We would also welcome a church service in the day or evening - this spring or summer. Thank you again! Jim & Debbie Rodby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WagonMaster Adventure Ranch also viewed

Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to WagonMaster Adventure Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WagonMaster Adventure Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.