We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lunch place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Roma Caffe - CLOSED

Antica Roma Caffe
19 Tennessee St, Murphy, NC 28906-2938
828-837-5300
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Italian, Ice Cream
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
tampa and murphy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great lunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

the food is not plentiful but fresh and authentic. Great sandwiches on wonderful crusty bread. Great place for lunch while browsing the quaint downtown Murphy area

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    43
    2
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
“Best Italian in Tri-State Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Antica Roma Cafe has the best of everything. From the delicious crepes they offer for breakfast, to lunch offerings such as the prosciutto panini and pasta fagioli soup, to dinner specials (offered on Friday and Saturday nights) such as the butternut squash ravioli, the food is of the very best quality. Dessert here is mandatory--it's much too delicious to pass up. Definitely worth a long drive for such excellent food, service, and atmosphere. :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A taste of Italy in North Carolina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The best restaurant in Murphy. Outstanding Italian sandwiches and salads. Homemade soup in the winter that is truly *to die for* and the desserts. Nothing compares to Carla's homemade cookies and desserts and oh, the Nutella crepes! Lets not even talk about the chicken and eggplant parmigiana or the homemade meatball sandwiches. Amazing. It is the best of the best and is truly a taste of Italy in North Carolina.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a great surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I had two meals here - one lunch and one dinner. They were both excellent. I had a proscuitto and fresh mozarrella pannini sandwich that left me wishing I could find proscuitto like that at home. For dinner, I ordered the eggplant parmesan (sp). It came with bruschetta, a cesear salad and fresh bread. The portions were generous and just delicious. The tiramusu was worth every calorie too. A really great find that was totally unexpected.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“the reviews led me here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

...and I'm not a bit sorry. I can't wait to go back. This is a small restaurant near the very center of downtown Murphy. Plenty of free street parking in the front. The restaurant has only about 10 tables and is a great place for lunch or dinner for couples when they are open for dinner (Fridays and Saturdays). I went with my husband and we each ordered sandwiches and he also got a soup of the day. My sandwich was yummy. It had some kind of smoked meat on it, tomatoes, onion, lettuce and a splash of vinegar and oil. The bread was what was so amazing. It's made there and you can buy it. It's french baguettes that are really really tasty. Really tasty. I took one home and we ate it for dinner. My husband loved his sandwich and soup, They have a few Italian specialty foods such as olive oil and candies that you can buy, they are also a bakery, so you can buy breads, desserts and pretty little pastries. The prices are very reasonable, service was good and it's just a great atmosphere. The menu is small, but includes soups, salads and sandwiches for lunch. I plan to go back the next time I'm in town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Roma Caffe also viewed

Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Roma Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.