We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the reviews led me here...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Roma Caffe - CLOSED

Antica Roma Caffe
19 Tennessee St, Murphy, NC 28906-2938
828-837-5300
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Italian, Ice Cream
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
TN
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“the reviews led me here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

...and I'm not a bit sorry. I can't wait to go back. This is a small restaurant near the very center of downtown Murphy. Plenty of free street parking in the front. The restaurant has only about 10 tables and is a great place for lunch or dinner for couples when they are open for dinner (Fridays and Saturdays). I went with my husband and we each ordered sandwiches and he also got a soup of the day. My sandwich was yummy. It had some kind of smoked meat on it, tomatoes, onion, lettuce and a splash of vinegar and oil. The bread was what was so amazing. It's made there and you can buy it. It's french baguettes that are really really tasty. Really tasty. I took one home and we ate it for dinner. My husband loved his sandwich and soup, They have a few Italian specialty foods such as olive oil and candies that you can buy, they are also a bakery, so you can buy breads, desserts and pretty little pastries. The prices are very reasonable, service was good and it's just a great atmosphere. The menu is small, but includes soups, salads and sandwiches for lunch. I plan to go back the next time I'm in town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    2
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Best so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I were recommended to Antica and it turned out to be the best Italian restaurant in our Tri-state area so far. All the pasta, sauces, breads and desserts are made in the restaurant daily. There is a small printed menu but Friday and Saturday night's menu is on the chalk board. Usually between 5 to 7 specials. Their meatballs are as good or better than my mothers. We are working our way thru their desserts and their homemade Gelato. The cafe is across the street from the Henn theater so it is convenient to make it a nice evening with movie and dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“A great blend of fresh and quality food with good service in a pleasant family atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We visit regularly when visiting Murphy several times each year. Great food and service in pleasant surroundings, with good value.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, NC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Really delicious authentic Italian food. Don't look for Pizza or Meatball sandwiches on the lunch menu because you won't find them.Instead, sandwiches, salads, soup, pastries, gelato and coffeehouse coffees. The bread is some of the best I have ever tasted. Prices are reasonable and the service is fast and friendly. Beer and wine is to be had.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I visit Murphy twice a year as it is my hometown and my parents still live here. This restaurant has filled a void for delicious, wholesome Italian food. I always manage to eat here at least twice during my short stays. The coffee is worth a visit in and of itself. The caprese panini is perfection on a plate. The gelato and cannoli is downright divine. The owners are genuine and so very sweet. They've remembered me since my first visit. Incredible pricing, family-like service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Roma Caffe also viewed

Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Roma Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.