We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great blend of fresh and quality food with good service in a pleasant family atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Roma Caffe - CLOSED

Antica Roma Caffe
19 Tennessee St, Murphy, NC 28906-2938
828-837-5300
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Italian, Ice Cream
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
2 reviews
“A great blend of fresh and quality food with good service in a pleasant family atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We visit regularly when visiting Murphy several times each year. Great food and service in pleasant surroundings, with good value.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    2
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murphy, NC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Really delicious authentic Italian food. Don't look for Pizza or Meatball sandwiches on the lunch menu because you won't find them.Instead, sandwiches, salads, soup, pastries, gelato and coffeehouse coffees. The bread is some of the best I have ever tasted. Prices are reasonable and the service is fast and friendly. Beer and wine is to be had.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I visit Murphy twice a year as it is my hometown and my parents still live here. This restaurant has filled a void for delicious, wholesome Italian food. I always manage to eat here at least twice during my short stays. The coffee is worth a visit in and of itself. The caprese panini is perfection on a plate. The gelato and cannoli is downright divine. The owners are genuine and so very sweet. They've remembered me since my first visit. Incredible pricing, family-like service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

That's what everyone says after they discover Antica Roma. I've eaten in wonderful Italian restaurants all over the country, and while Antica Roma doesn't offer a broad menu, they make up for it in excellence. And be sure to save room for dessert where the toughest part is making up your mind over gelato or home-made Italian cookies or tiramisu.Try the meatball sandwich on Saturdays or the eggplant rollatini at dinner (dinner on Fridays and Saturdays only.)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“My Favorite Dining Experience In Murpy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

After reviewing my options for dinner I was told that Antica served dinner on selected nights. I stopped in on Saturday night for dinner. Excellent choice on my part. The food and service was excellent. Save Room for Dessert!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Roma Caffe also viewed

Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Roma Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.