We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Roma Caffe - CLOSED

Antica Roma Caffe
19 Tennessee St, Murphy, NC 28906-2938
828-837-5300
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Italian, Ice Cream
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Murphy, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

That's what everyone says after they discover Antica Roma. I've eaten in wonderful Italian restaurants all over the country, and while Antica Roma doesn't offer a broad menu, they make up for it in excellence. And be sure to save room for dessert where the toughest part is making up your mind over gelato or home-made Italian cookies or tiramisu.Try the meatball sandwich on Saturdays or the eggplant rollatini at dinner (dinner on Fridays and Saturdays only.)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    2
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“My Favorite Dining Experience In Murpy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

After reviewing my options for dinner I was told that Antica served dinner on selected nights. I stopped in on Saturday night for dinner. Excellent choice on my part. The food and service was excellent. Save Room for Dessert!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This restaurant has a real flare of Italy. The food is tasty and the service is great. My only complaint is that the serving size of the shrimp has become smaller. The Scampi is delicious and salad and bread are grand.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A very good Anniversary Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were in the area and celebrating our 45th anniversary. The reviews for Antica Roma Caffe looked very good, so we made reservations for a Saturday night. One of the "specials" was Butternut Squash Ravioli. It was sooooo good. My husband ordered the Veal Parmesan and said his was very good, also. The owners were there, and I take it that he cooks the delicious main dishes and she bakes the scrumptious bakery items. She brought us a sample of two of the gluten-free cookies and they were so good! We brought desserts back to our vacation house for tasting tomorrow. The signage in the back of the room says they have been there 2 years. Looks like they are on track for many more years! Glad we read the reviews and went there for dinner!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great place for a relaxing & inexpensive lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Very european atmosphere in the mountains. I never expected such a great find in the small town of Murphy NC. I had a pannini with mozzarella chesse, lettuce & tomatoes. The incredients were fresh and the bread tasted freshly made. Try the crema caralana for dessert. It's a custard. The place is spotless and the service outstanding.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Roma Caffe also viewed

Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Roma Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.