We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doyle's Cedar Hill Restaurant

Doyle's Cedar Hill Restaurant
925 Andrews Road, Murphy, NC 28906
828-837-3400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 49 Restaurants in Murphy
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Brasstown, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Loved the fresh Garden Veggies and Local trout.. The cheesecake was great! But the signature Vanilla, Caramel Crunch cake was soggy with no crunch.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    43
    18
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Oaks, TX
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Upscale restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was the only restaurant open on a Monday evening while staying in the area. It is an upscale restaurant with matching prices. They were out of some of the menu items and the waitress did not know this information until after the orders were placed. This seemed odd for such a good restaurant to not inform their wait staff. We had to begin our ordering process all over again. They were very willing to accommodate some dietary limitations. The service was very efficient but the wait staff were condescending. The food was good but not excellent. The stand out was the creme brulee which was the best we had ever had. It would be worth a trip to this restaurant just for the creme brulee and coffee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Wife and I went one night. Place was not very busy but the service was excellent and the food even better!! I had a rib eye and she had some chicken thing. The tomato salad and the onion soup were just WOW!! It was so good we went back the next night for dinner as well and everything was excellent again that night!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Just ok. Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We had the chicken with walnut and cream cheese and it was good. Sauce was a little sweet. but service was slow. My daughter had the coconut shrimp with yellow rice. She ate all the shrimp but only one bite of yellow rice. Wanted cheese cake but they were out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“We had been before, and this time was excellent too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We were somewhat put off by the reviews that mentioned poor service and mediocre food, but our previous experiences over several years had been so positive that we took our hosts there on a Tuesday evening. Some of the reviews had focused on I attentive staff, but as we walked through the rain glistening herb plants,we were warmly welcomed and asked our choice of indoor or outdoor seating. We chose the patio, and our waiter asked our drinks. We chose a reasonably priced Argentinan malbec. The trout, our favorite in times past, was sold out, sowe tried the shrimp scampi, salmon, and a Greek salad topped with salmon. Our salads were fresh,crisp and dressed lightly. All entrees arrived in a timely manner. The fish was correctly cooked. We shared the waiter's recommendation, two interesting cheesecakes. One was black cherry and chocolate, the other vanilla and lavender. Both shared a delightfully light base. The coffee was excellent. The earlier rain had passed, and we sat and talked in the cool of the evening.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doyle's Cedar Hill Restaurant also viewed

Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Murphy, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Doyle's Cedar Hill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doyle's Cedar Hill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.