We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southland Restaurant

Southland Restaurant
141 Caratoke Hwy, Moyock, NC 27958
+1 252-435-6247
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Moyock
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet
Description: Established in 1972. "Southland", as we are known, is comprised of Southland Restaurant, Southland Snack Bar, as well a general convenience store and shopping areas. Southland Restaurant serves country-style lunch and dinner buffets, and a weekend breakfast bar (Sat/Sun). Enjoy "Breakfast Anytime" from our full service menu. We are well known for having "The Best Fried Chicken" and BBQ. Southland Snack Bar features fast made to order Carolina BBQ sandwiches and dinners. We serve premium Blue Bell brand hand-dipped ice cream. Southland serves locals and travelers alike, many of whom are visiting the Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are a landmark stop that is part of many folks' vacation traditions. From the beginning there has been a lot of time, effort, pride, and care directed towards providing old-fashioned service, and the absolute highest quality, at the most reasonable price.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“NIce Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

On my way back from OBX, was looking for something open for breakfast, had passed by Southland many times but had not stopped. Very clean, service was exceptional..had breakfast buffet which offered an extensive variety of options. Price was very reasonable and overall a nice experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good breakfast buffett”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We stopped at Southland for breakfast while traveling home from the Outer Banks and were delighted by the southern hospitality. This place is a roadside touristy looking place, complete with gas station, gift shop and fireworks. It was also packed. We figured all those people can't be wrong, so we tried it.
We were greeted by a gracious hostess, and what appeared to be a long line. However we were seated in less than 5 minutes. They offered a breakfast buffett(very reasonably priced) as well as a breakfast menu. The breakfast Buffett was hot, well stocked and all the food was fresh. It had the standard breakfast items-pancakes, bacon, French toast,scrambled eggs, sausage,etc- but it also had some unexpected foods for us Yankees. There were grits, and fried baloney. Try the baloney. Our hands down favorite, were the hot, home made biscuits with creamy, sausage gravy. We had seconds. You just can't get that in Jersey!
Theres also a wide variety of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, oatmeal and various breads. Two in our party ordered from the menu and even though they enjoyed their choices, they regretted not having the Buffett. We will stop here again...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Some of my family live in this area, and recently we went to visit; this is a great local place to eat. The food is simple, good, and the prices are too! They are known for their fried chicken, which I did not order, everyone else in a hurry, and they fry it up fresh for your order!
You won't go away hungry! Our service was good, too!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyock
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

good old country cooking. best fried chicken around. breakfast served all day and omelets are huge.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great southern place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Delicious food feels like home!! Love the country setting. My family enjoyed the seafood buffet.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southland Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Southland Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southland Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.